Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made 8 large hamburger size buns and two tiny loaves. Did not use a bread machine, used the Kitchen Aid to do most of the kneading since this dough is on the "sticky" side. Also did a milk wash on top before popping them in the over. They came out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe. I halved the recipe and used 100% Kamut flour and made 10 hotdog rolls. I put everything in the bread machine and let it do the work and then took the dough out and formed them into hotdog rolls. I slit them down the middle after forming and another time before putting in the oven. It took about three hours for them to rise but it was a pretty cool day. The finished product probably would hold the hotdog better if you used half kamut and half white flour but the taste was wonderful and I didn't mind holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Wow. I loved these. I used my fed starter, substituted butter for margarine. I divided the rolls into 2 9-inch pans. They needed to bake longer, 15-18 minutes? Absolutely wonderful. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamelascakes
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
WOW! THESE HAVE A GREAT FLAVOUR AND AMAZING SOFTNESS! I FOLLOWED EVERYTHING EXCEPT I LEFT OUT THE BAKING SODA. I ALSO LEFT MY STARTER OUT ON THE COUNTER OVERNIGHT TO FORM THE "SPONGE". I COULD REALLY TASTE THE SOURDOUGH IN MINE! BEFORE GOING IN THE OVEN I EGG WASHED THE ROLLS. I WILL MAKE THIS FOR ALL THE HOLIDAYS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These rolls were pretty good. I didn't use the molassas, just added an extra tablespoon of honey. They had a good flavor and were pretty easy to make. The dough was pretty soft, so I had to add extra flour. I'm thinking next time I make these, I'll mix the four, oatmeal, water and starter and let it sit overnight. The next day I'll mix in everything else. I didn't notice the sourdough flavor, so I think letting it sit overnight will develop the flavor. Definately worth making again when I need to use some of my starter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Best dinner roll I have ever had/made. New Thanksgiving dinner MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made these with 1 cup of wheat and 2 cups of white flour. Used butter and 1 1/2 tsp. of yeast since I live at high altitude. Rose well and tasted good. 1/2 cup of margarine is a lot for a bread recipe so I will reduce it to 1/4 cup the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is the most flavorful bread I have made to date. I skipped the yeast and increased baking soda to1 tsp. I was a little worried that it did not raise good (took 2 hours) but when I baked it, it did raise alot more. This one is a keeper. I use a temperture guage to tell when it is done. 200 degrees. No more underbaked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love love love this recipe. I don't use any yeast, so I double the sourdough starter. I used butter instead of margarine, and 3/4c. of regular oats. They are so fantastic. I am trying bread next. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really good was a really big hit at thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States