Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is more of what I would call a biscuit than a roll. it has a cakey texture not a puffy yeast one. we realy liked it. i think that it'll be delicious in the morning with a scrambled egg and maybe cheese too. Took another's advice and used all coconut oil that was solid. No cocnut flavor but a nice sweetness, unami-type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These were probably THE BEST rolls I have ever made. I used all whole wheat including my sourdough and they were fantastic. I left out the molasses and used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 real butter instead of the margarine. Raised high and were light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Sasser Nilssen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am a bread baking novice. These rolls are so soft, supple and unbelievably tasty that I had to leave the room while they cool to keep from eating more of them... I followed the recipe exactly and the rolls are PeRfEcT!! I will be making these again. They are well work the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
omg! these are sooo yummy! so tender, moist, crispy outside, fully risen and light, using a heating pad was a jewel of a tip! I love these rolls. Took advice from other reviewers, no soda, no margarine, instead, evoo.. no yeast, just the sourdough starter, and no salt...I think it inhibits the rising, so..and I used ww pastry flour for one of the cups of flour. did grind the old fashion oats in my mini chopper, to a course grind, added the water to them and let soak about ten mins...ok, that is it. They rose beautifully and baked in about 12-14 mins. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
these were very good. My dough was a bit too sticky/had to add more flour into it. They were a little sweet for a dinner roll. I think personally I would try again and decrese the honey to be less sweet.*I made these again with some changes. 2nd time around I used half the molasses, half the honey, flour: used 1/3 wheat and 2/3 white +added 1/2 cup of flour; beat it in the kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook on low for 5 min. THIS one I like!Family did not care for the" sweet" one but gave the version with less sugar and part wheat flour the thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fantastic! I've made 2 batches so far. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for the additional flour needed which is very typical when making bread because of environmental differences. The second batch I used 1/4 butter (1/2 cup is just to much fat in a loaf of bread), and rolled oats that I soaked in the water, 1 cup wheat flour 2 cups white and again additional flour to reach the right consistency. These were light and fluffy with a soft crust. The kids devoured them. I agree it would be very hard to get 24 rolls from one batch but these are so yummy I'll need to double them every time! A few hints when using sour dough; it must be kneaded until the dough is soft not sticky and an imprint with your knuckle springs back slowly. There is a fantastic site to explain the nuances of working with sour dough http://www.thewilbournegroup.com/Sourdough/SourdoughStarterHelp.html , especially note the paragraph on shaping and baking. I've never had another misshapen flat loaf again.(well worth the read). We made cinnamon rolls with a batch of these, also very yummy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are very good. My sourdough is not very sour so I didn't get that aspect. However, on the opposite side, I do not think they are too sweet. I prefer my rolls to have a sweet background taste and these do. I used about 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour to replace some of the ap flour. I also added a t of lecithin granules and a t of vital wheat gluten. Consequently the rolls were very light and fluffy. I did not add the additional yeast because my starter has yeast in it. The dough did not rise very much because of that. I will add at least some yeast when I make them again. I love oatmeal in bread and therefore I love this recipe. I ended up with 24 rolls, after forming them into golf ball sized balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
best rolls ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
My family loved these. they do not like strong sour dough so they worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States