Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
these are wonderful! I followed the non-bread machine directions and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Loved this. Even the taste of honey came through. Delicious1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this in the basic cycle of my bread machine because I was too lazy to make rolls. I added 1 cup extra oats and it turned out great! It was perfect with my whole wheat Herman starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Surbeck Carossino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I absolutely love the taste and texture of these rolls! I needed to use some of my starter and these make such a light,tender, fluffy, slightly sweet roll. Perfect for the holiday table. I love the little crunch of the oatmeal. I don't have a bread machine so just mixed it up by hand. omitted the molasses and used 4 tbsp. of buckwheat honey, which is a darker, stronger honey. Thanks so much for a lovely roll recipe. Great alternative to using starter instead of the weekly loaf of classic sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I've made this recipe twice so far, just mixing the ingredients by hand as I do not have a bread machine. Once I made it with the molasses and once I substituted brown sugar. Both turned out well, though I think I liked the brown sugar version better. It was a bit sweeter and tasted more like a parker house roll to me. I used slow-cooking oats both times. Once I just stirred them directly into the mix and once I followed another reviewer's suggestion to soak them first. Soaking made for a less chewy product, which I think I preferred, though next time I am out, I think I will just get some instant oats to keep on hand. I will definately keep making this recipe as it is an easy way to use the extra sourdough starter whenever I feed it (just can't bring myself to throw a cup of starter away). Very worthwhile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fabulous recipe. I even misread the recipe and only used 1/2 cup of sourdough starter instead of 1 c. and no molasses( i didn't have any) but extra honey. I also substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Used my bread maker until i get a stand mixer with dough hooks for Christmas (dropped a hint to hubby today!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The world's pickiest eater said "those are allright". These surprised me...they ended up some of the best rolls I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have a good started so I did not use the yeast or soda. I changed out one cup of white flour for one cup of oatmeal flour. They rose up high and had a great flavor, and a tender crumb. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This tastes great! Using rye sourdough starter, this gives whole grain goodness. I formed some dough into a bread pan, and some into a free formed loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I really liked the rolls. I don't have a bread machine so I kneaded the dough the old fashioned way. My total time was about 2 hours. They cooked up much bigger than I thought, so I'll make them smaller - golf ball size, next time. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States