Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I made my first ever sourdough starter and used this recipe to try it out, substituting whole wheat for half of the all-purpose flour, but think I prefer the recipe as published. Preparation was a breeze and the results FANTASTIC! Better than restaraunt-quality and cheaper than thaw-and-bake. We use this again and again for soft and fragrant dinner rolls or for larger sandwich rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
AWESOME! I replaced 1 of the cups of flour with whole wheat flour, used all honey (hubby not a fan of molasses), and 1/3 cup olive oil in place of the margarine. So light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These rolls are SO GOOD!!!! My entire family gobbled them up. Although they are not in the "low fat" category, they were worth it. I made no adjustments to them except, knowing bread, the recipe states that you should put them on the baking sheet after the second rising. That would make them fall. You place them ON your baking sheet FOR the second rising. They do not have a strong sour taste from the sour dough starter (and my starter is well aged and very sour), they had a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
These were extremely good-the whole family loved them. They were fantastic fresh out of the oven with butter and great the next day with some orange marmalade. This is going to be a staple recipe at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
How I wish I could give this more stars. Incredible!! I used whole wheat flour and mixed with hands. I was even low on time YET these were fabulous! The house was fragrant . Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Im always looking for great recipes for my sourdough starter and this was a winner! I did not use a bread machine. I combined wet and dry ingredients seperately (after proofing yeast in the water with a TBSP of sugar), then folded dry into wet in the kitchenaid. I sprayed my hands with some canola oil, rolled 12 equal size balls and coated with a touch of flour then placed them in a 9X13 pan. I let them rise until they were at the top of the pan and then let them cook! My picky wife loved the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indy_J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
these are wonderful! I followed the non-bread machine directions and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Loved this. Even the taste of honey came through. Delicious1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made this in the basic cycle of my bread machine because I was too lazy to make rolls. I added 1 cup extra oats and it turned out great! It was perfect with my whole wheat Herman starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I absolutely love the taste and texture of these rolls! I needed to use some of my starter and these make such a light,tender, fluffy, slightly sweet roll. Perfect for the holiday table. I love the little crunch of the oatmeal. I don't have a bread machine so just mixed it up by hand. omitted the molasses and used 4 tbsp. of buckwheat honey, which is a darker, stronger honey. Thanks so much for a lovely roll recipe. Great alternative to using starter instead of the weekly loaf of classic sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States