Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love love love this recipe. I don't use any yeast, so I double the sourdough starter. I used butter instead of margarine, and 3/4c. of regular oats. They are so fantastic. I am trying bread next. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really good was a really big hit at thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Very good. Used 1 cup whole wheat flour, and 2 cups white flour. Replaced 1/4 cup of butter with 1/4 cup yogurt. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
ehhh these were only so so. I think the other reviewers made me think it was going to be something special but it seemed like more effort than it was worth. They didn't rise very well and were very heavy for my tastes. I also made the San Francisco sour dough at the same time and it was fabulous. . .maybe that's why this scored so low?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These rolls were amazing--both in texture and in flavor! Two grown men and myself could not stop eating them when they came out fresh from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Other than the sourdough starter I use a mix of whole wheat and soy flour when I make these and they always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
this is suppperrrrr supppperrr good, soooo soft. i don't have molasses so i change it to brown sugar and i change the all purpose flour to bread flour. and turn out soooooooo goood, the dough is soft but not sticky anymore after the 1st raising. the dough is very similar to Taiwanese dough that i make before. this is a good base dough. so soft and have a nice soft crust. i make 3 kinds from 1 recipe , 1 is plain, 1 topped with course salt and the last on i topped with sugar and sesame. all is very good. you can brush it with honey also after baking for the plain one to make it more sweeter and sticky on top. smells great i can taste the oat really well. up date : just bake it for second time using all purpose flour this time. the taste is not the same i think i should change it up to bread flour next time. it have better texture.the one with all purpose flour is a bit dry . because of this i down my rating from 5 star to 3 star only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We REALLY enjoyed these rolls. This dough is really versatile and can be used for more than just rolls. I have bread sticks from this dough in the oven right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this almost exactly as written, but I was looking for a loaf...the only variation I did was to leave it all in the bread machine through the entire bread cycle. Made a very delicious loaf of bread...just as written! Thanks for the recipe, Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were awesome! I omitted the molasses and used butter instead of margarine but otherwise made as written. They are so soft on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States