Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made 8 large hamburger size buns and two tiny loaves. Did not use a bread machine, used the Kitchen Aid to do most of the kneading since this dough is on the "sticky" side. Also did a milk wash on top before popping them in the over. They came out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe. I halved the recipe and used 100% Kamut flour and made 10 hotdog rolls. I put everything in the bread machine and let it do the work and then took the dough out and formed them into hotdog rolls. I slit them down the middle after forming and another time before putting in the oven. It took about three hours for them to rise but it was a pretty cool day. The finished product probably would hold the hotdog better if you used half kamut and half white flour but the taste was wonderful and I didn't mind holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Wow. I loved these. I used my fed starter, substituted butter for margarine. I divided the rolls into 2 9-inch pans. They needed to bake longer, 15-18 minutes? Absolutely wonderful. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamelascakes
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
WOW! THESE HAVE A GREAT FLAVOUR AND AMAZING SOFTNESS! I FOLLOWED EVERYTHING EXCEPT I LEFT OUT THE BAKING SODA. I ALSO LEFT MY STARTER OUT ON THE COUNTER OVERNIGHT TO FORM THE "SPONGE". I COULD REALLY TASTE THE SOURDOUGH IN MINE! BEFORE GOING IN THE OVEN I EGG WASHED THE ROLLS. I WILL MAKE THIS FOR ALL THE HOLIDAYS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These rolls were pretty good. I didn't use the molassas, just added an extra tablespoon of honey. They had a good flavor and were pretty easy to make. The dough was pretty soft, so I had to add extra flour. I'm thinking next time I make these, I'll mix the four, oatmeal, water and starter and let it sit overnight. The next day I'll mix in everything else. I didn't notice the sourdough flavor, so I think letting it sit overnight will develop the flavor. Definately worth making again when I need to use some of my starter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Best dinner roll I have ever had/made. New Thanksgiving dinner MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made these with 1 cup of wheat and 2 cups of white flour. Used butter and 1 1/2 tsp. of yeast since I live at high altitude. Rose well and tasted good. 1/2 cup of margarine is a lot for a bread recipe so I will reduce it to 1/4 cup the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is the most flavorful bread I have made to date. I skipped the yeast and increased baking soda to1 tsp. I was a little worried that it did not raise good (took 2 hours) but when I baked it, it did raise alot more. This one is a keeper. I use a temperture guage to tell when it is done. 200 degrees. No more underbaked bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love love love this recipe. I don't use any yeast, so I double the sourdough starter. I used butter instead of margarine, and 3/4c. of regular oats. They are so fantastic. I am trying bread next. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Really good was a really big hit at thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States