Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a very tasty roll, but in my opinion not suited for dinner, because of its sweetness. One could eat it for breakfast of course. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baerbel Schlatter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I really likes this recipe. Unfortunately the measurements weren't correct. I needed more than one extra cup flour to get the dough into a manageable state and the baking time was way off, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I have alternated between butter or Crisco on these instead of margarine (bleck) and have had success both times. My boys like helping with these as well. Great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast (I used one whole "packet" of active yeast) in the mixer bowl with the honey and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added the starter, molasses, egg, melted butter (which I used instead of margerine), then the dry ingredients. I did run my oats through my mini-processor before using it using the ice crushing feature so my oats would be a finer consistancy. This did need about 3/4 cup of flour more than what was asked for in the recipe. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes, then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in a greased muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another half hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. These rolls were really very good! The oats gave the rolls a nutty kind of flavor--which was just wonderful combined with the yeasty-sourness of the starter and the buttery-molasses-y flavor. These turned out really fluffy and soft and just......incredible! NOTE: I will say that I did not get 24 rolls out of this recipe, I got 12. That was fine for me because that was all I needed. For someone else who wants a recipe that make a larger quanitity, be sure to double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I made 8 large hamburger size buns and two tiny loaves. Did not use a bread machine, used the Kitchen Aid to do most of the kneading since this dough is on the "sticky" side. Also did a milk wash on top before popping them in the over. They came out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe. I halved the recipe and used 100% Kamut flour and made 10 hotdog rolls. I put everything in the bread machine and let it do the work and then took the dough out and formed them into hotdog rolls. I slit them down the middle after forming and another time before putting in the oven. It took about three hours for them to rise but it was a pretty cool day. The finished product probably would hold the hotdog better if you used half kamut and half white flour but the taste was wonderful and I didn't mind holding it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Wow. I loved these. I used my fed starter, substituted butter for margarine. I divided the rolls into 2 9-inch pans. They needed to bake longer, 15-18 minutes? Absolutely wonderful. I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamelascakes
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
WOW! THESE HAVE A GREAT FLAVOUR AND AMAZING SOFTNESS! I FOLLOWED EVERYTHING EXCEPT I LEFT OUT THE BAKING SODA. I ALSO LEFT MY STARTER OUT ON THE COUNTER OVERNIGHT TO FORM THE "SPONGE". I COULD REALLY TASTE THE SOURDOUGH IN MINE! BEFORE GOING IN THE OVEN I EGG WASHED THE ROLLS. I WILL MAKE THIS FOR ALL THE HOLIDAYS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamelascakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These rolls were pretty good. I didn't use the molassas, just added an extra tablespoon of honey. They had a good flavor and were pretty easy to make. The dough was pretty soft, so I had to add extra flour. I'm thinking next time I make these, I'll mix the four, oatmeal, water and starter and let it sit overnight. The next day I'll mix in everything else. I didn't notice the sourdough flavor, so I think letting it sit overnight will develop the flavor. Definately worth making again when I need to use some of my starter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Best dinner roll I have ever had/made. New Thanksgiving dinner MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States