Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Make this recipe often. Made some personal changes after making my first batch. Thanks in advance for your original recipe, Sally!!!! I use Organic Coconut oil in place of margarine. Also use egg replacer for egg. Old Fashioned oats instead of quick cooking. Substitute 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 2 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose for the flour. Leave out the molasses and my sourdough strain is from 1847 started on the Oregon Trail! Famous with my family and friends!! Mostly organic, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
First time try sourdough bread and the result was great! I substituted margarine with same amount of coconut oil, left out molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was my first time ever making sourdough, and I used 'no-commercial yeast starter' from this site, feeding it 12 hours before making these. I omitted the baking soda but kept the yeast because my starter didn't have any. Used 2 tbsp butter + 2 tbsp oil( 1/2 cup sounded like an awful lot). I also don't have a bread maker so I made it by hand, by proofing yeast, mixing in the wet ingredients, then the dry and kneading for 5 min. Then I let rise for 1.5 hours and followed the rest of the recipe from there. They have a fabulous texture and light flavor...HOWEVER... I have to knock a star down because I could barely taste the sourdough flavor, and it is supposed to be a sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wow! Made this recipe just like it states except that I let them rise on the baking sheet for about 2 hours. Rolls reminded me of the ones from grade school when they were made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
These are fabulous! Melt in your mouth good and sooo easy! I used grapeseed oil instead of margarine. I also used old fashioned oats instead of quick and just soaked them in the warm water called for. My kids used some of my rolls to create a "bear!" using raisins for eyes/mouth/buttons. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made these almost exactly as directed, minus the molasses (didn't realize I was out). I say "almost" because I used a Kitchen Aid mixer, mixed the dough for about 5 minutes, let it rise in the bowl, formed rolls on my cookies sheet, then let it rise again before baking. They are yummy... just sweet enough and very soft. I did make 12 rolls and they're huge! Next time, I'll make 20-24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is more of what I would call a biscuit than a roll. it has a cakey texture not a puffy yeast one. we realy liked it. i think that it'll be delicious in the morning with a scrambled egg and maybe cheese too. Took another's advice and used all coconut oil that was solid. No cocnut flavor but a nice sweetness, unami-type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These were probably THE BEST rolls I have ever made. I used all whole wheat including my sourdough and they were fantastic. I left out the molasses and used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 real butter instead of the margarine. Raised high and were light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am a bread baking novice. These rolls are so soft, supple and unbelievably tasty that I had to leave the room while they cool to keep from eating more of them... I followed the recipe exactly and the rolls are PeRfEcT!! I will be making these again. They are well work the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
omg! these are sooo yummy! so tender, moist, crispy outside, fully risen and light, using a heating pad was a jewel of a tip! I love these rolls. Took advice from other reviewers, no soda, no margarine, instead, evoo.. no yeast, just the sourdough starter, and no salt...I think it inhibits the rising, so..and I used ww pastry flour for one of the cups of flour. did grind the old fashion oats in my mini chopper, to a course grind, added the water to them and let soak about ten mins...ok, that is it. They rose beautifully and baked in about 12-14 mins. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States