Oatmeal Scotchies in a Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These were a hit! I only used 1 cup of morsels in the dough and just sprinkled a few on top and they were plenty sweet. Tip: Cream and Butter and sugars well - add the eggs one at a time incorporating each one then add your dry ingredients and just stir to combine. You don't want to develop the gluten in the flour. Spread into the pan and I baked for 30 minutes. Very tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
These turned out wonderfully. I followed the ingredients/directions (except only had 1.5 cups butterscotch chips) and while the dough was thick, it was easy to squish down into the pan. Cooked 25 minutes and it was cooked through. Great crunch on the top and soft, almost gooey inside. Very sweet, but easy to cut up and make a lot of servings from. Thanks for a great recipe - it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This recipe was amazing as is. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! Very moist and chewy in the center with a crisp top and edges! Next time for variation I may add caramel flavoring or cinnamon chips! Bet that's yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
As others mentioned, the batter was quite thick and had to be pressed into the pan like a crust or cookie. I reduced the oats to 1 1/4 cup and the chips to 1 cup. Baked for 25 minutes and it came out very nice. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry mixture. Thank you ABELAIRE for a nice cake. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Very sweet but VERY good! These wonderful cookies scream for milk, smiles. We couldn't stay away from them, even enjoying them for breakfast the next morning. Really, how bad can they be with oatmeal as a main ingredient, smiles. This will be made again and again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This recipe is yummy! Just made them and they are great. Added some cinammon, and vanilla favoring to the recipe. Very easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These cookies are amazing! I made the recipe exactly as written. The texture is exactly the way it should be for a bar cookie -- lightly crisp and brown on the top and bottom, but soft, dense and moist in the center. The dough is excellent -- not overly sweet, which makes the butterscotch flavor of the chips stand out nicely. I had a chocolate chip bar cookie recipe that I loved, but I think this one may displace it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
My daughter and I made this today - we have no butterscotch chips in NZ, so we used choc chips, and I added a splash of vanilla after reading earlier reviews... we LOVE this!! So quick, so moist, so YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Really Yummy! Everyone loved these. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and used both semi-sweet chocolate and butterscotch chips. Definitely will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very tasty! Lots of flavor and perfect texture. I followed it exactly with the addition of one teaspoon vanilla. These are definite keepers and better than the oatmeal scotchie cookies that I was too tired to make. I creamed the butter and sugar until fluffy prior to adding the vanilla and eggs. Wow! Thanks so much for sharing these treasures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States