Oatmeal Scotchies from Nestle® Toll House® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
They tasted great but mine came out very flat. If I make them again I would add more flour to get the right consistency before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
way too sweet. chips taste very artificial
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Marie M.
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Simple and easy recipe for a great cookie. They disappeared quickly at work. After reading other reviews, I was worried about how thin and crispy they would come out, so I experimented a little. The best batch came out crispy on the outside, slightly chewy in the middle, and not too thin. I achieved this by following the recipe exactly for ingredients, but before I populated the baking sheets I chilled the dough in the fridge for 10-15 minutes (and returned it to the fridge in between batches). I also scooped them by rounded tablespoon per the instructions, but packed them into balls before placing on baking sheet so that they wouldn't have as many nooks and holes. I baked for 9 minutes, cooled for 3 on the baking sheet, then moved to a wire rack to cool completely. They came out very sweet, so next time I may use a tad less butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Love the scotch and oatmeal combination together- cookies turned out great! Baked for 10 minutes and they were just right! Not too soft and not too crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTAAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This has always been one of my favorite cookies, but whenever I made it, it didn't come out right. This last time I decided to change the way I made it and they came out perfectly. Instead of 3 cups of oatmeal I used 2 cups and I only used 1 cup of the chips. I also put them in the fridge overnight (and even in between scooping the cookies) to harden the butter. This is the way I will be doing it from now on but this is still a classic cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blenny80

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These were delicious. A little too sweet for myself, but a big hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, I used Quaker Maple and brown sugar oats as that was all I had to hand. I always freeze individual cookie dough balls (This always helps with stopping them going flat and also saves eating a whole batch at a time). Roll the dough into balls and place on a cookie tray in the freeer. Once frozen store in a zip lock bag until required. To cook simply place frozen dough balls on a baking tray and bake at 350 degrees for approz 25 mins. Perfect cookies everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
One of my favorite cookies, I will be baking 12 dozen for my familys cookie exchange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These cookies are delicious, but they turned out nothing like the Nestle picture for this recipe. Not sure how Nestle got them to look so thick & chewy, these are definitely a very flat cookie if you follow the recipe exactly. The first batch I made I followed the directions exactly, and they spread out like crazy!! When they were done cooling, you could lift a cookie up and see holes throughout (kind of reminded me of parmesan crisps!) Not what I was looking for as far as texture. My next batch, I used a medium cookie scoop to scoop up the dough and then I rolled it into a ball and set them on the cookie sheets (8 per sheet) and baked for about 10 minutes. The cookies turned out much better doing it this way - I could actually lift them off the cookie sheets and onto a cooling rack without them falling completely apart like the first batch. While these cookies are delicious, next time I make these, I plan on decreasing the butter to 3/4 cup (hoping to reduce how much they spread) and adding a little less butterscotch chips (maybe 1 1/2 cups). Also, if you're really looking to detect the cinnamon in this recipe, I definitely recommend doubling the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Our family LOVES these cookies. My mom has been making them at Christmas for years. It's always been my favorite! The only change we make is adding a little extra cinnamon. Also, the dough freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evans, West Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States