Oatmeal Raisin Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
after reading some of the reviews I decided to change the recipe a little bit. to start with, I used 2 cups of raisins instead of 3/4. (that obviously depends on how much you like raisins) and I added 1 tsp. of salt to the raisins and water. if you have salted raisins you most likely will not have to do that. you honestly don't need as much butter as it calls for, I only used 1 stick and they were fine. I added about 1 Tbsp. agave nectar ( or you could use honey) and I used half a cup more flour than it calls for just to thicken it up a little more. (I still had to let it sit for five minutes) I baked them on a cookie sheet greased with a little oil and on 375. I definitely recommend that so they don't burn! I only baked them about 6 minutes. tip: they are VERY sticky so I absolutely recommend greasing the pan with oil, Crisco, spray or something! also, be sure to make your cookies smaller when placing them on the pan because as they sit they will spread out. they will basically double in size just by running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is by far the best oatmeal raisin cookie recipe I have found yet! Its easy to follow and the cookies came out soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Wayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I found these cookies to be alright. The batter was very sticky and tough to scoop out. I used parchment paper and the bottom of my cookies burnt while the middle and top were still undercooked. I had to take them out because I didn't want to burn them further. I would have added more raisins and reduced the temp while raising the cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annaheartsrainbows
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
YUM! These cookies turned out great. I just finished off my third one. :) I used half vegetable shortening and half melted butter. I also used about 1/4 cup mixed dried fruit and only 1/2 c. raisins because we didn't have enough raisins. The cookies are like little cakes. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
IGNORE ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS!!! these are the best cookies me and my family have ever tasted!!! I was hesitant making these because of the other reviews but I decided to go for it and it was way worth it! I didn't change the recipe at all and it was fabulous. the only thing i would recomend is to put the cookies in the oven for 5 min. to start then add on by 1 minute because they burn fast. Just when they become slightly brown on top they are just right. Also, I didn't grease the pan with spray, I took soft butter on a papertowl and rubbed it on the pan! BEST COOKIES EVER!!!!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
these are soft and delicious,I added a little honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Callander, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Eh.... I would suggest brown sugar and a little bit of salt to the dough. I put frosting on mine to compensate for a little bit of "blah". Sorry! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
A perfect, chewy oatmeal cookie. I substituted raisins for the butterscotch chips since I didn't have any and it was great too. I'll make this recipie again!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was bland and they were so soft they all ran together on the cookiesheet even after I waited more than the five minutes and added more flour. I was really dissappointed at how they turned out. Even my 3 year old said he wouldn't eat them and he eats anything sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I tweaked the recipe a little bit. I used half brown sugar half white. I also used dried blueberries instead of raisins and I added chopped almonds. The cookies were very soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States