Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
NOTE: The boiling of the raisins (put in a microwave bowl, cover with water and microwave 5 mins. Let sit for about 10 more mins.) This made such a difference; I'm glad I read that in these reviews. These bars are absolutely fantastic! I can't keep my husband away from these! I can't believe how easy this was. For an added treat I frosted some with white frosting and they tasted awesome (I was having a sugar craving at the time!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Finally! These are great! They aren't full of fat and greasy like all the other oatmeal cookie recipes I have tried from this site and for once, the recipe works perfectly fine as is! You don't have to read through a thousand reviews and mark down all the changes you need to make to have it turn out! You can make them as bar cookies or just drop cookies. I had no "self-rising" flour so I added 1 tsp of baking powder and used "salted" butter, actually I used Becel (a healthy, soft, tub type margerine)and the recipe turned out superb. (Self-rising flour is just regular flour with added baking powder and salt, you will notice baking recipes that call for it usually do not call for baking powder.) I also had to use whole wheat pastry flour (a very fine ground whole wheat flour you will find at a health-food store) because I ran out of all-purpose flour but my kids still gobbled them up! Anyway, thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have modified this recipe slightly and always hear "These are the best I've ever had". Here are the modifications I like (for 24 servings recipe) - Use equal amounts of white & brown sugar (1/2 cup each). Change the amount of raisins to 1 1/2 cups. Change the amount of Vanilla & Cinnamon to 1 Tablespoon each instead of 1/2 teaspoon. Roll into 1 1/2 inch balls and put on the cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were very good! I made the recipe exactly as written and had great results. I baked for 14 minutes to get the edges to start browning, then pulled it out. Don't be alarmed if the center seems underdone. The top and bottom crisp up as the bars cool, leaving a crisp outside and chewy inside. For me, at least half the charm was that this recipe was SO easy and baked in so little time, giving almost immediate results. The flavor was great and this recipe would be very easy to modify if you wanted to add some extra goodies like coconut, toffee bits or chocolate chips of any variety, as well as changing the recipe so that it would be more nutritious. Don't be afraid to try this one, folks. It's easy, quick and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I just made these cookies for my mother and they were excellent. I did notice that these were a bar cookie recipe but I made them into cookies instead.I read some of the other reviews before making these cookies and made sure to put my raisins in a boil of water and microwave them for 5 minutes. This made the raisins very plump and juicy. Make sure to drain them before adding them to the mixture. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the cookies and put them on the cookie sheets. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon and added a teaspoon of nutmeg to the mix.I also added 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. An outsanding cookie very soft and chewy just the way I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
We found this recipe quick and easy to make. I changed the sugar amounts to 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and added coconut because we happened to have it handy. The recipe is very adaptable; the cookies were very moist and delicious. A definite hit with the kids, and a very portable cookie (doesn't fall apart)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Wow! These are great...Again the recipe is perfect. I love that they are not full of fatty ingredients. I made a couple of changes because I didn't have all of the ingredients: 1) Used whole wheat flour and all purpose flour; 2)I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder since I didn't have self-rising flour; 3) used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 of white sugar; 4)doubled the amount of cinnamon. They are by far the best oatmeal raisin bar recipe! Thank you soooo much. I will definetly do this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
So easy to make and so tasty! It's an essential during camping trips because of their portability. Sometimes I add walnut or pecan pieces just to give it an extra crunch. Watch them in the oven carefully though; once it's all brown in colour, it will be a tad on the tough side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARREI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Oh my! These are the best cookies I have made in a long, long time! They have the perfect amount of sugar, raisins and aren't too greasy. I made a big batch and brought them to a Halloween party and they were a BIG hit. I plan to make some as Christmas gifts to give to friends (if I don't eat them all).*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
amazing! Everyone that tasted these loved them. I used 1/2 c. white sugar instead of 3/4 c, and they were the perfect sweetness for me. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States