Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made these yesterday for a work pot-luck. I ended up not bringing them becuase after the bars cooled and I started to cut them they fell apart. The flavor was very good, and I am keeping them for the family. They're just a big messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were very good! I made the recipe exactly as written and had great results. I baked for 14 minutes to get the edges to start browning, then pulled it out. Don't be alarmed if the center seems underdone. The top and bottom crisp up as the bars cool, leaving a crisp outside and chewy inside. For me, at least half the charm was that this recipe was SO easy and baked in so little time, giving almost immediate results. The flavor was great and this recipe would be very easy to modify if you wanted to add some extra goodies like coconut, toffee bits or chocolate chips of any variety, as well as changing the recipe so that it would be more nutritious. Don't be afraid to try this one, folks. It's easy, quick and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My family loves these bars! For a healthier recipe, use all organic ingredients, use half the sugar, and substitute coconut oil for the butter. Delicious, and near guiltless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My husband and I did not care for these, but thank you for the suggestion regarding plumping the raisins in water in the microwave. I will definitely try that out with a different cookie recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth Ellenbogen Schopf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Wow! These are great...Again the recipe is perfect. I love that they are not full of fatty ingredients. I made a couple of changes because I didn't have all of the ingredients: 1) Used whole wheat flour and all purpose flour; 2)I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder since I didn't have self-rising flour; 3) used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 of white sugar; 4)doubled the amount of cinnamon. They are by far the best oatmeal raisin bar recipe! Thank you soooo much. I will definetly do this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Yummy! I made this recipe last week and I'm being told to make it again! I added cinnamon and crushed walnuts to the recipe. Also, taking the advice of others about soaking the raisins, I just rinsed them in my hands under hot running water. A short cut, but you can see them plump right up! This recipe will be a favorite, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
When I made these bars I thought I'd gotten it wrong because everytime I tested it to see if it was ready the knife came out sticky, it wasn't until I read other reviews and realised it was supposed to be that sticky! I'm glad it was though, I recommend this recipe to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Dang good bars! I also loved the "soak the raisins first" idea mentioned by previous reviewers. I've never heard of that one before and I'll be doing that from now on in all my recipes calling for raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
doubled the cinnamon....and put in a 9 x 5 pan and cooked twice as long....came out AWESOME!!! everyone loves it. thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Soooo delicious! I used all butter, but besides that used the same recipe. So good you can't stay away :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States