Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is absolutely the BEST oatmeal raisin cookie recipe I have ever baked or eaten! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I don't like the look or texture of whole oats in my cookies. So I put my oats in the blender and grind them into a fine powder. I also followed another reviewer's advice to place the raisins in a microwave dish, cover with water and cook for 5 minutes. Then let them stand for 10 minutes more. My cookies were still soft and chewy three days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is love! Thanks fot this amazing recipe! When i were in USA i tasted oatmeal cookies and ever since i have looked after recipe. And i finally found one, and it wasn't bad =) Im gonna eat them all up, better to lock them in.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Made cookies according to recipe with a few changes-- I added 1 tsp baking powder because I didn't have self-rising flour on hand, microwaved the raisens in water for 5 minutes and let sit for 10 min to plump them up, and also used smart balance butter. The results-- I used a teaspoon to drop the cookies onto baking sheet instead of making bars. Could have cut back on the sugar as they were plenty sweet enough. Also, let the batter sit after adding everything so that it will thicken up a bit and allow extra room around each cookie on baking sheet as they spread as they bake. Overall--awesome and healthier cookie option!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Moist and chewy - best oatmeal rasin cookie recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Awesome recipes, even with all the substitutions and absent ingredients I had. I used Splenda instead of sugar, molasses instead of brown sugar (plus 1/4 extra of Splenda), salted butter and no salt, egg Beaters instead of an egg, and whole wheat flour (not self-rising). I had no baking powder so they didn't puff up much and kind of crumbled after baking, but I am satisfied with the taste and will definitely be better prepared the next time I cook up batch of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this as bars. It was super easy and yummy! I did have to cook almost twice the recommended time though. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taraupnorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
SOOOOOOO GOOD! we added the tsp of baking powder as well delicious cookies, but im just a college student so i dont have high standards, hahah. but i recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this for my grandfather with the following changes: 1- Used all brown sugar, it has not been bleached and therefore has more nutrients 2- Used whole wheat flour (for fiber and B complex vitamins in the wheat germ) 3- Plumpled up the raisins for a half hour (easier chewing) I mixed both "blond" and regular raisins. Yum. 4- Make sure to use butter and not trans-fat containing "shortenings" (some even say 0% trans fat because legally, if they have .5 g per serving, they can say 0%. So if a serving is a teaspon or two... If is says partially of fully hydrogenated, it's got trans fats. period.) I made them as drop cookies, and they were both delicious and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Overall a pretty good recipe. Easy to make without a mixer, cooks fast, and isn't too overpoweringly sweet. I did them as bars, but have not tried dropping them as cookies and probably would use a different recipe if I make oatmeal cookies, but as bars, they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Wonderful. Added a tablespoon of honey. Used the pumpkin bar cream cheese icing recipe with it and it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States