Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Awesome recipes, even with all the substitutions and absent ingredients I had. I used Splenda instead of sugar, molasses instead of brown sugar (plus 1/4 extra of Splenda), salted butter and no salt, egg Beaters instead of an egg, and whole wheat flour (not self-rising). I had no baking powder so they didn't puff up much and kind of crumbled after baking, but I am satisfied with the taste and will definitely be better prepared the next time I cook up batch of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I made this as bars. It was super easy and yummy! I did have to cook almost twice the recommended time though. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taraupnorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
SOOOOOOO GOOD! we added the tsp of baking powder as well delicious cookies, but im just a college student so i dont have high standards, hahah. but i recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this for my grandfather with the following changes: 1- Used all brown sugar, it has not been bleached and therefore has more nutrients 2- Used whole wheat flour (for fiber and B complex vitamins in the wheat germ) 3- Plumpled up the raisins for a half hour (easier chewing) I mixed both "blond" and regular raisins. Yum. 4- Make sure to use butter and not trans-fat containing "shortenings" (some even say 0% trans fat because legally, if they have .5 g per serving, they can say 0%. So if a serving is a teaspon or two... If is says partially of fully hydrogenated, it's got trans fats. period.) I made them as drop cookies, and they were both delicious and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Overall a pretty good recipe. Easy to make without a mixer, cooks fast, and isn't too overpoweringly sweet. I did them as bars, but have not tried dropping them as cookies and probably would use a different recipe if I make oatmeal cookies, but as bars, they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akkadoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Wonderful. Added a tablespoon of honey. Used the pumpkin bar cream cheese icing recipe with it and it was great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I made these yesterday for a work pot-luck. I ended up not bringing them becuase after the bars cooled and I started to cut them they fell apart. The flavor was very good, and I am keeping them for the family. They're just a big messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were very good! I made the recipe exactly as written and had great results. I baked for 14 minutes to get the edges to start browning, then pulled it out. Don't be alarmed if the center seems underdone. The top and bottom crisp up as the bars cool, leaving a crisp outside and chewy inside. For me, at least half the charm was that this recipe was SO easy and baked in so little time, giving almost immediate results. The flavor was great and this recipe would be very easy to modify if you wanted to add some extra goodies like coconut, toffee bits or chocolate chips of any variety, as well as changing the recipe so that it would be more nutritious. Don't be afraid to try this one, folks. It's easy, quick and tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
My family loves these bars! For a healthier recipe, use all organic ingredients, use half the sugar, and substitute coconut oil for the butter. Delicious, and near guiltless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
My husband and I did not care for these, but thank you for the suggestion regarding plumping the raisins in water in the microwave. I will definitely try that out with a different cookie recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Beth Ellenbogen Schopf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States