Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These were delicious and easy...the only change I made was to cut back a little on the white sugar...no one even noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
really good, i made them as small cookies, they were perfect, crispy out and soft and chewy inside. my only two things: too many raisins (and i love raisins) and a bit too sweet. i would probably reduce the white sugar by a quarter cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very delicious and really easy! I liked that it made a small (22) batch of cookies(I rolled the dough into balls and baked til the edges browned). I did use 1/2 wheat, 1/2 white flour (and may try all wheat next time) and did increase the amount of vanilla and cinnamon. I will probably cut the sugar down next time as well - I think with the sweetness of the raisins, about 1/2 cup of so would do fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmet wannabes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cowiche, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The batter was delicious. unfortunately if you are going to make drop cookies with it, as someone else suggested it would work, you need adjust the baking temp down to about 325 for 10 minutes. I have an oven thermometer to calibrate my baking temperture, my first batch burned at 360.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
this is a good base oatmeal bar recipe, but i had to put them in an 8x8 pan, there wasn't enough dough for a 9x13. i used whole wheat flour + 1/2 t of baking powder. i also decreased the sugar to 1/2 c per other reviews. flavor and texture were right on. i didn't pay so much attention to cooking time, but rather just took them out when the edges were beginning to brown. i'm going to make another batch with chocolate chips. i think cranberries and white chocolate will be good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have modified this recipe slightly and always hear "These are the best I've ever had". Here are the modifications I like (for 24 servings recipe) - Use equal amounts of white & brown sugar (1/2 cup each). Change the amount of raisins to 1 1/2 cups. Change the amount of Vanilla & Cinnamon to 1 Tablespoon each instead of 1/2 teaspoon. Roll into 1 1/2 inch balls and put on the cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I've been having major cravings for oatmeal raisin cookies and these just made my cravings worse! They were hard, almost like a rock and they tasted really bad. Oatmeal raisin cookies are my fave and this was a huge dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I used to love this recipe, but the past few times that I've made it, the cookies turn out really flat and greasy. Anyone know why???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Brilliant recipe in all its incarnations. Like others, I cut the sugar by half, and added 1 tsp baking powder as I was using all-purpose flour. Omitted the cinnamon and raisins and added chocolate chips. Next time, I'll keep the cinnamon and use butterscotch chips. As great as any oatmeal cookie without the time to dip-n-drop each cookie, and truly versatile with the add-ins. Also, as stated, not too greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States