Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
After reading reviews, plumped my raisins before adding and downed the white sugar to 1/2 cup. These tasted awesome, but WAY too many raisins. I'm used to 5 or six raisins per cookie, these have 10 - 15. Will make again, but with 1/2 the amount of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CoolCats3
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Love this recipe, just made these tonight & this will be the recipe I use all the time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoolCats3
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trent Hills, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved these! Made these just as the recipe stated and turned out great! Make sure you soak the raisins in water for 5 minutes or so and then drain them. Also, if you take them out of the oven when the side are brown (not the top), they will be super moist when cooled. They may not look quite cook when you take them out, but they will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This will one day become a top recipe. If it were a stock, it'd be google in the 1990s. I set out to ruin these cookies. I had a premade dry mix from another recipe that I messed up by using self rising flour. I started over with that recipe, but kept the dry mix and ingredient searched it and up pops this recipe. It wasn't an exact fit, but I adjusted: Salt was in the dry mix, so I added more sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and more vanilla to mask it. Molasses was thrown in with the wet ingredients, since the full amount of sugar was in the dry mix...and thus, no creaming of the butter and sugar. Steeped dates subbed for raisins. An 8x8 pan was used, and yes, it was a little overfilled (could've been worse had I not taken some out to make drop cookies). I lowered the temp and baked longer to avoid undercooking the middle; checked frequently b/c of the alterations. This was meant to be a grand fustercluck. How it came out so incredibly yummy was no credit to me. The cookies were very flat and thin and of a cake-y texture, but with carmelized edges. Very good, and I preferred it to the bars. But the bars being so moist...and the taste was a 10/10...would be heaven eaten warm with vanilla ice cream. Thank you to the cook who created this, your recipe is utterly foolproof. I'll pass it along to my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Could use something else - can't put my finger on it. Not bad - but not the best I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
By FAR the BEST oatmeal cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made these exactly as it is written in the recipe and they turned out great. Although I used a flour/baking powder combo instead of self-rising flour, but it's the same thing. Some reviewers have complained about them not holding together, but I didn't have any trouble. I made bars, so maybe it was the fact that I used my fingers to really press all the dough down into the pan before baking? Or maybe it is because I tend to use real butter rather than margarine or other processed butter substitutes. Whatever the reason, I will certainly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I omited the brown sugar to save on calories and sugar intake. Added a mix or rasins, cranberries & dates. That gave it a nice punch without all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
yummy! to bake in 10x15 pan, change servings to 32.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States