Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These were very, very good cookies! Made a double batch for my large family! I did microwave 3 C. of rasins in a liquid measuring cup with water that covered the raisins, for 5 minutes, then let them cool for 10 min before, draining, and adding them to the dough. I used 2 sticks of butter right from the fridge and 1 C. Brown & 1C. White sugars. Used a hand mixer to get all flour, etc incorporated and smooth. Used required double amount of oats, but then added addl oats as dough could use more when mixing. I also didn't measure my spices, just eyeballed it with extra cinnamon. Cooked them on 350 for about 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Glad these are bar cookies! I need something to take to church functions so much easier for busy housewives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
OMG! Made just as written, only I made as drop cookies b/c I couldn't get it spread out good in the pan. Sensational!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
OH GOLLY! SO GOOD! MY GRANDAUGHTER JUST ADORES THESE. MY GREAT NEICE SAID THEY ARE THE BEST COOKIE EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
After reading reviews, plumped my raisins before adding and downed the white sugar to 1/2 cup. These tasted awesome, but WAY too many raisins. I'm used to 5 or six raisins per cookie, these have 10 - 15. Will make again, but with 1/2 the amount of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
LOVE,LOVE,LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CoolCats3
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Love this recipe, just made these tonight & this will be the recipe I use all the time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoolCats3
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trent Hills, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved these! Made these just as the recipe stated and turned out great! Make sure you soak the raisins in water for 5 minutes or so and then drain them. Also, if you take them out of the oven when the side are brown (not the top), they will be super moist when cooled. They may not look quite cook when you take them out, but they will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This will one day become a top recipe. If it were a stock, it'd be google in the 1990s. I set out to ruin these cookies. I had a premade dry mix from another recipe that I messed up by using self rising flour. I started over with that recipe, but kept the dry mix and ingredient searched it and up pops this recipe. It wasn't an exact fit, but I adjusted: Salt was in the dry mix, so I added more sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and more vanilla to mask it. Molasses was thrown in with the wet ingredients, since the full amount of sugar was in the dry mix...and thus, no creaming of the butter and sugar. Steeped dates subbed for raisins. An 8x8 pan was used, and yes, it was a little overfilled (could've been worse had I not taken some out to make drop cookies). I lowered the temp and baked longer to avoid undercooking the middle; checked frequently b/c of the alterations. This was meant to be a grand fustercluck. How it came out so incredibly yummy was no credit to me. The cookies were very flat and thin and of a cake-y texture, but with carmelized edges. Very good, and I preferred it to the bars. But the bars being so moist...and the taste was a 10/10...would be heaven eaten warm with vanilla ice cream. Thank you to the cook who created this, your recipe is utterly foolproof. I'll pass it along to my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Could use something else - can't put my finger on it. Not bad - but not the best I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States