Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
As this site has enabled me to cook wonderful meals for my family I feel it is my duty to give feedback to help others. 5 stars without a doubt! I made few changes- equal amounts brown and white sugar(half cup) and use wheat flour decreased the butter just a bit,finally adding walnuts for personal pleasure. Best compliment when the kids think your the best cook in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
A nice and easy cookie recipe - great for kids to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jakobstad, Pohjanmaa, Finland
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These are my oatmeal cookies from now on. Perfect texture, nice and chewy, works perfectly with raisins, chocolate chips, or combination. I increased the proportion of brown sugar to white and used whole wheat pastry flour. The second time I made these I ran out of normal oatmeal so I had to use some steel-cut oats. This changed the texture in a way that I liked, but that probably not everyone would appreciate. I am very happy to have found this recipe, thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I read all the reviews first and I did like most everyone else and soaked the raisins. I read that alot of the cookie bars came out cake-like. So I used King Arthur whole wheat flour. As indicated by others, I cut back the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup each of regular and brown. These cookies came out nice and will made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Finally! These are great! They aren't full of fat and greasy like all the other oatmeal cookie recipes I have tried from this site and for once, the recipe works perfectly fine as is! You don't have to read through a thousand reviews and mark down all the changes you need to make to have it turn out! You can make them as bar cookies or just drop cookies. I had no "self-rising" flour so I added 1 tsp of baking powder and used "salted" butter, actually I used Becel (a healthy, soft, tub type margerine)and the recipe turned out superb. (Self-rising flour is just regular flour with added baking powder and salt, you will notice baking recipes that call for it usually do not call for baking powder.) I also had to use whole wheat pastry flour (a very fine ground whole wheat flour you will find at a health-food store) because I ran out of all-purpose flour but my kids still gobbled them up! Anyway, thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These are great. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also doubled the cinnamon and boiled the raisins as other reviewers said. These cookies are a little cakier than I like, but still are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
YUMMY! After reading the reviews, I boiled the raisins too, great tip. I only had brown sugar and I cut it down a little. I added 1/2 cup mini M&M's. For easier spreading I sprayed a spatula with non-stick spray and used that to spread. Great recipe -thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was pleased to find oatmeal/raisin in bar cookie form. These were excellent. Plump up the raisins in boiling water before mixing them in the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very good bar cookies. The hardest thing was to get them to spread out in the pan as the dough was very heavy and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I must say that I didn't know this was a bar recipe until I got ready to put them in the oven. I still made them in cookie form and they turned out well. I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and doubled the cinnamon. I also greased the pan with butter. The first batch I did with oil and felt as though they retained the flavor of the oil too much. Next time I will soak the raisins, although mine didn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States