Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
As this site has enabled me to cook wonderful meals for my family I feel it is my duty to give feedback to help others. 5 stars without a doubt! I made few changes- equal amounts brown and white sugar(half cup) and use wheat flour decreased the butter just a bit,finally adding walnuts for personal pleasure. Best compliment when the kids think your the best cook in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
A nice and easy cookie recipe - great for kids to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jakobstad, Pohjanmaa, Finland
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These are my oatmeal cookies from now on. Perfect texture, nice and chewy, works perfectly with raisins, chocolate chips, or combination. I increased the proportion of brown sugar to white and used whole wheat pastry flour. The second time I made these I ran out of normal oatmeal so I had to use some steel-cut oats. This changed the texture in a way that I liked, but that probably not everyone would appreciate. I am very happy to have found this recipe, thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I read all the reviews first and I did like most everyone else and soaked the raisins. I read that alot of the cookie bars came out cake-like. So I used King Arthur whole wheat flour. As indicated by others, I cut back the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup each of regular and brown. These cookies came out nice and will made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Finally! These are great! They aren't full of fat and greasy like all the other oatmeal cookie recipes I have tried from this site and for once, the recipe works perfectly fine as is! You don't have to read through a thousand reviews and mark down all the changes you need to make to have it turn out! You can make them as bar cookies or just drop cookies. I had no "self-rising" flour so I added 1 tsp of baking powder and used "salted" butter, actually I used Becel (a healthy, soft, tub type margerine)and the recipe turned out superb. (Self-rising flour is just regular flour with added baking powder and salt, you will notice baking recipes that call for it usually do not call for baking powder.) I also had to use whole wheat pastry flour (a very fine ground whole wheat flour you will find at a health-food store) because I ran out of all-purpose flour but my kids still gobbled them up! Anyway, thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLAYKITTENPIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These are great. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also doubled the cinnamon and boiled the raisins as other reviewers said. These cookies are a little cakier than I like, but still are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
YUMMY! After reading the reviews, I boiled the raisins too, great tip. I only had brown sugar and I cut it down a little. I added 1/2 cup mini M&M's. For easier spreading I sprayed a spatula with non-stick spray and used that to spread. Great recipe -thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I was pleased to find oatmeal/raisin in bar cookie form. These were excellent. Plump up the raisins in boiling water before mixing them in the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very good bar cookies. The hardest thing was to get them to spread out in the pan as the dough was very heavy and sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I must say that I didn't know this was a bar recipe until I got ready to put them in the oven. I still made them in cookie form and they turned out well. I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and doubled the cinnamon. I also greased the pan with butter. The first batch I did with oil and felt as though they retained the flavor of the oil too much. Next time I will soak the raisins, although mine didn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States