Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made this recipe 3 times in 3 weeks, 4th time this weekend. It's SO tasty and healthy. Husband, who doesn't like oatmeal, loved them, and I tried them on 2 girls at work, one asked the next day if I had brought in any more of those cookies! This time I'm trying it with the whole wheat flour and ground flaxseed. Husband's blood pressure has gone down since I started making them, we are so pleased. THANK YOU for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
these cookies taste healthy but the only thing holding them together is butter. I made no substitutions (except replacing 1/2 cup of white flour with wheat) and made sure to use salted butter but these cookies are not dessert. I could see eating a couple with a cup of coffee for breakfast - but not the sweet I was looking for today. too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is an awesome cookie recipe. I added alittle ground clove and instead of raisins I added dried blueberries. My family demolished these in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was actually a little apprehensive about how EASY it was to mix with just a tablespoon, after the butter/sugar/eggs/vanilla were creamed. (I thought they wouldn't hold together and spread all over the pan!) You should absolutely soften the butter first for best results. I soaked the raisins before adding them, and actually totally forgot about the salt, as I was using unsalted butter. Regardless, these cookies are phenomenal. If I remember next time, I'll probably add some, but I'm so glad I spent like 30 minutes reading reviews of recipes before deciding to make this one. Fantastically chewy, delicious oatmeal raisin cookie. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My son love these cookies, He is 28 and puts in his order every year about this time.. These are the best cookies.. I use splenda brown sugar too. We love them and very easy to make. I know I make them 10 to 15 times just in the fall months.... Great cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very easy and good, just a bit thin, but i would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My boyfriend was craving Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, so off to Allrecipes.com I went...this recipe seemed to be a little healthier with less sugar, so I decided to go with it. I have to say that as I was adding the 2 tsp of vanilla, I thought it was too much - and it was. The cookies smelled incredibly sweet because of the vanilla, but they were not very sweet at all. Granted, I was going for less sugar, but it is a cookie and you still want it to taste like one, right? I think with half the vanilla and maybe another 1/2 c brown sugar, they would be good, but we found them to be just OK. I also forgot to add the salt, as recommended by another reviewer, so I'm sure that didn't help. Sorry, Kathleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigergal73

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made these cookies and the dough was so thick, it was hard to stir. There is not enough moisture to this recipe. I had to add some water to be able to stir it, at the end. Needs more oil or something. Will probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I agree with Becky that this recipe needed salt which thankfully I added ahead of time due to her heads up. I also would add more brown sugar and/or honey, because I like a sweeter cookie. I also added 1/2 cup of dried pineapple in place of 1/2 the raisins and a 1/2 cup of black walnuts. I turned out well. All in all, a good recipe, not a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Tasty but I found these to be a little too sweet, especially when still warm (would have been fantastic right out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream ... yum). I really liked the honey and cinnamon flavors but the sweetness level would work better with walnuts instead of raisins (kind of an oaty baklava). I'm definitely going to make these again with raisins and less sugar or with walnuts. Also, I didn't add salt as I figured the baking soda would add enough saltiness (mine weren't bland at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE444

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States