Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
I was afraid to try this new recipe especially since I dumped in a pricey amount of walnuts and standard and mini chocolate chips, but they came out GREAT! Since I am admittedly a sugar fiend, I found the cookies to be a little less sweet than I would like so I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar for a total of 1 1/2 cups. The cookies received excellent reviews from the family both before and after the sugar adjustment, though. The exact quote from a grateful taste-tester was, "You outdid yourself this time." Since canola is one of the wiser choices in terms of fats, and walnuts also reside in the relatively benign family of fats alongside canola (let's not mention the chocolate chips I added, though) I recommend this delicious oatmeal cookie to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAPESWHIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This recipe makes a great nutty flavored cookie that is not too sweet. I made them and they went like wildfire. I loved the way the Canola Oil and sugar mixed to create a paste that holds everything together. I thought the cookies might be oily, but that is not the case. These cookies really bring out the flavor of the rolled oats with a light taste of sugar and raisins. These are light cookies you can eat more than one of and not feel guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I had been searching for a soft oatmeal raisin cookie for a long time. This is it! I made the cookies a little larger, I got about 36 cookies from the batch. The best part is that they stay soft for days, if they stay around that long. My family and coworkers have enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
These cookies stay soft and chewy for days, if they last that long. They're the best tasting oatmeal raisin cookie I've ever had and anyone that I've shared them with feels the same. They're very easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I made a double batch of these cookies for Coffee Hour at church and they were a huge hit! I used all whole wheat pastry flour (sifted), light brown sugar, light olive oil, quick rolled oats, and half raisins and half dried cranberries. I called them Oatmeal Mystery Cookies and people had a lot of fun trying to guess what the unusual ingredient was (cranberries, of course.) I used a cookie scooper and liked the fact that the rounded mound stayed round when baked. Mine took 17 minutes convected at 325 degrees, and made 101 cookies in the double batch. This is the best oatmeal cookie I have ever made, and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very good! To make this low-carb friendly I substituted 1 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup for the brown sugar. I also used whole wheat flour and they still came out great! Baking for 9 min at 350 deg seemed to be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I JUST baked these cookies, and I have to admit that I was afraid that they would be too dry (one woman said that this recipe had the consistency of granola-- it's true!). However, they turned out great! I have a sweet tooth tooth, so I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar for taste, and I baked them for 18 minutes for a bit of crunch. This recipe is sooo easy-- I'm a bored college student baking for my friends on Memorial day! I will definitely be baking with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ken Y.
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great cookies...not overly sweet and keep well, if you can resist gobbling them up. I made these with whole wheat pastry flour and added coarsely chopped almonds and a little wheat bran for extra fiber---not like this recipe wasn't healthy enough already! (: Before baking, the dough seemed like it was all oats, but it held together, and indeed the cookies puffed up nicely. The result was just right...soft but not overly crumbly. (If you like chewy, I would guess all-purpose flour will give you better results.) Restrained sweetness lets the spices and chunks of almonds show their stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Wow! Delicious. I've really been cutting back on saturated/trans fats and was so pleased to see a recipe for cookies that had canola oil! I didn't have quite enough brown sugar (but close) and since I am always looking to cut fat in baked goods, I did substitue half of the oil with drained (which is key for using it for baking) unsweetened apple sauce. I really LOVE these cookies. The only problem I have with these cookies, is that it is going to be so hard not to eat too many!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Really delicious alternative to traditional butter-laden oatmeal cookies. I was worried when I saw how crumbly the batter was (more like sticky wet granola), but I just went with it and they stick together to form soft, chewy cookies. If you bake them until they are almost burnt around the edges, they are nice and crispy on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States