Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
I was afraid to try this new recipe especially since I dumped in a pricey amount of walnuts and standard and mini chocolate chips, but they came out GREAT! Since I am admittedly a sugar fiend, I found the cookies to be a little less sweet than I would like so I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar for a total of 1 1/2 cups. The cookies received excellent reviews from the family both before and after the sugar adjustment, though. The exact quote from a grateful taste-tester was, "You outdid yourself this time." Since canola is one of the wiser choices in terms of fats, and walnuts also reside in the relatively benign family of fats alongside canola (let's not mention the chocolate chips I added, though) I recommend this delicious oatmeal cookie to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Wow! Delicious. I've really been cutting back on saturated/trans fats and was so pleased to see a recipe for cookies that had canola oil! I didn't have quite enough brown sugar (but close) and since I am always looking to cut fat in baked goods, I did substitue half of the oil with drained (which is key for using it for baking) unsweetened apple sauce. I really LOVE these cookies. The only problem I have with these cookies, is that it is going to be so hard not to eat too many!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Really delicious alternative to traditional butter-laden oatmeal cookies. I was worried when I saw how crumbly the batter was (more like sticky wet granola), but I just went with it and they stick together to form soft, chewy cookies. If you bake them until they are almost burnt around the edges, they are nice and crispy on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Thank you for all the nice comments and suggestions! Sometimes we make them with the extra quarter cup of brown sugar that some have suggested. Sometimes we increase the baking soda to 1 tsp to get a fluffier crispier cookie. (That adds sodium though.) Cal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Very good! To make this low-carb friendly I substituted 1 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup for the brown sugar. I also used whole wheat flour and they still came out great! Baking for 9 min at 350 deg seemed to be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I had been searching for a soft oatmeal raisin cookie for a long time. This is it! I made the cookies a little larger, I got about 36 cookies from the batch. The best part is that they stay soft for days, if they stay around that long. My family and coworkers have enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
These are so good!!! I try to bake only with canola oil, and am always on the lookout for good recipes for cakes and cookies.I don't think that there are many cookie recipes that call for oil instead of butter or margarine...Anyway, these cookies are fantastic (and for a cookie, kind of healthy...) and I've already made them several times, and will definately continue making them :@)I actually made them without raisins, and they still taste great (I added the 1/4 cup brown sugar that some other reviewers wrote about)My husband and two year old love them, and if they are going to nosh, I'd rather they eat these cookies than something else with bad fats and zero nutritional value. Thanks so much for the recipe :@) Update: I've been making these cookies with 1 1/4 cup LIGHT brown sugar (and no raisins) and (to me) they come out better this way... I make them at least once a week and EVERYONE who eats them asks me for the recipe...try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I make this every other month, when I have free time to bake. These always come out really well. I only use 3.5 cups of oats instead of the 4 that the recipe calls for, and instead, I throw in a cup of chopped walnuts to give it a little crunch. It always turns out really well, and my friends always ask for more. I love that it calls for vegetable oil instead of fat like many of the other recipes. I use vegetable oil to cook anyway, so that is something that can always be used in my house, but what am I supposed to do with fat? It's a good recipe that is easy to make. The dough is a little sticky so I set them by rolling them into balls with two metal spoons, and then flattening it a little as I put it on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This recipe makes a great nutty flavored cookie that is not too sweet. I made them and they went like wildfire. I loved the way the Canola Oil and sugar mixed to create a paste that holds everything together. I thought the cookies might be oily, but that is not the case. These cookies really bring out the flavor of the rolled oats with a light taste of sugar and raisins. These are light cookies you can eat more than one of and not feel guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I JUST baked these cookies, and I have to admit that I was afraid that they would be too dry (one woman said that this recipe had the consistency of granola-- it's true!). However, they turned out great! I have a sweet tooth tooth, so I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar for taste, and I baked them for 18 minutes for a bit of crunch. This recipe is sooo easy-- I'm a bored college student baking for my friends on Memorial day! I will definitely be baking with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States