Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
I was afraid to try this new recipe especially since I dumped in a pricey amount of walnuts and standard and mini chocolate chips, but they came out GREAT! Since I am admittedly a sugar fiend, I found the cookies to be a little less sweet than I would like so I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar for a total of 1 1/2 cups. The cookies received excellent reviews from the family both before and after the sugar adjustment, though. The exact quote from a grateful taste-tester was, "You outdid yourself this time." Since canola is one of the wiser choices in terms of fats, and walnuts also reside in the relatively benign family of fats alongside canola (let's not mention the chocolate chips I added, though) I recommend this delicious oatmeal cookie to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAPESWHIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I made these, and I am not sure if I did something wrong, but they didn't flatten out at all. They just stayed round. Also, the flavor wasnt what I expected from an oatmeal cookie. But on the up side, they are much healthier then regular cookies . . . that is important to me. I will make these again for myself when i am having a sugar craving, but I am pretty sure my kids wont eat them and I wouldnt make them for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I had been searching for a soft oatmeal raisin cookie for a long time. This is it! I made the cookies a little larger, I got about 36 cookies from the batch. The best part is that they stay soft for days, if they stay around that long. My family and coworkers have enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
These cookies stay soft and chewy for days, if they last that long. They're the best tasting oatmeal raisin cookie I've ever had and anyone that I've shared them with feels the same. They're very easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
These were truly the chewiest oatmeal cookies I've ever made, it was wonderful to see they never hardened up. Soft and yummy to the very last crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I really enjoyed these cookies. I halved the recipe, and I was able to get 36 cookies instead of 24. I used a 1 tablespoon of dough for each cookie. It's a very simple recipe to halve. I was a little scared at how little liquid there was, so I added 1 T. of melted butter. I think it gave these cookies a light crunch and were very good, and the liquid would have been just fine with out the butter. They are quick easy, good for you, lower in sugar and fats than most cookies. The cookies are a bit rounded, not flat, but I like them that way. Thanks Cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Very good, and more healthful than a typical oatmeal raisin recipe. I increased the brown sugar slightly (maybe an extra 1/8 or 1/4 cup), and added an extra half cup of raisins, since some of the other comments mentioned that the cookies were not very sweet, and they turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
There are so many oats in this recipe. My son asked me why I was making granola, that is what the batter looked like. The cookie tasted good, but was too close to granola then a cookie. I would not make these again just because I was looking for a moist oatmeal raisin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Very yummy! Lots of oats in this cookie and it makes a nice chewy snack. I also used half white flour and half whole wheat for a really nice healthy cookie and it turned out great. I pressed them down slightly on the sheet before baking them as I read in previous reviews that they didn't flatten out while baking. I will make this recipe again, Thanks Cal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
This recipe makes a great nutty flavored cookie that is not too sweet. I made them and they went like wildfire. I loved the way the Canola Oil and sugar mixed to create a paste that holds everything together. I thought the cookies might be oily, but that is not the case. These cookies really bring out the flavor of the rolled oats with a light taste of sugar and raisins. These are light cookies you can eat more than one of and not feel guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States