Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Family loved the cookies! I used cranberry's instead of raisins and some pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I didn't have my usual recipe from the oatmeal container so I decided to try these. I like that this recipe does not use any shortening. Next time I'll try substituting unsweetened applesauce for half of the oil. Perfect Christmas present for dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Wow, these are super easy and yummy! This will become my new standard oatmeal cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made a batch of these cookies because I wanted a snack (and didn't have any butter in the house, which is what my usual oatmeal cookie recipe calls for). I was pleasantly surprised! They have a much different texture than the oatmeal cookies I normally make, but I almost like these better -the chewiness is quite satisfying. I also like to throw chocolate & butterscotch chips in my oatmeal cookies, so it worked out fine that they aren't overly sweet (in fact, I prefer it that way). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
For someone who's never baked cookies before, these came out pretty yummy. I modified the recipe based on the other reviews that stated these were not sweet enough and too bland. I used 3 1/2 cups Quaker rolled oats, 1 1/4 cups of sugar, 1/3 cup raisins and the rest chopped walnuts, and a generous spoonful of the spices. (The same amount the recipe calls for, just a tad bit more) The batter came out grainy and loose so I hand molded them into the baking dish instead of spooning. Well, like I said, I've never baked cookies before so I didn't know how to shape them. My cookies came out HUGE. They don't spread that much, so the way they went into the oven is basically the same way they came out :/ I got about 15 cookies instead of the 48 the recipe calls for. I'm just lucky that the first (and only) batch came out great I guess. I baked them for about 16 minutes. They looked a little strange coming out of the oven but I guess that was my fault. I was surprised that they tasted delicious. Not oily at all like some reviewers said. Crispy around the edges. Not chewy, but crumbly and soft on the inside. My husband doesn't care about texture or appearance... as long as it tastes good. He loved them and loved that they were healthy but they were a little sweet. (I thought the sweetness was perfect but the cinnamon was a bit strong) I'll be making this again whenever we have a cookie craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
It was OK, but definitely not fantastic. My guilty pleasure is eating oatmeal cookie dough. When I went to make some tonight, I realized I was out of butter, so I searched for a recipe I could use oil with. I stumbled upon this. The first problem was that the dough was so dense. I was right, it just wasn't good. I guess the butter coats the sugar molecules differently? So, I actually cooked them this time. Mine turned out a bit fluffy with a slight crunch, which I'm sure tons of people love, but for me, I wanted a nice chewy cookie- this wasn't it. My husband will like them, but I'm definitely going to save my guilty pleasure for when I actually have butter in the house next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe will go in the "use daily" file because these cookies don't stay around for more than a few hours. Everyone in the family loves the moist, tasty, rich cookies that are so much better than using butter. I would recommend this recipe without reservation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very good. Healthier using a veg oil instead of butter or margarine. I used safflower oil instead of canola oil. I increased baking soda to 1 tsp for a fluffier cookie. I used light brown sugar. Baked at 330 because I had dark nonstick pans. Otherwise no changes. Other reviewers are right, the dough looks like wet, sticky granola. I dropped it by the dinner spoon full (about tablespoon) onto the pans. Then wet my hand and shaped each drop into more of a ball or mound to compact the dough a bit. The cookies spread a little with baking but not much and resulted in a "normal" height and size cookie, very moist, soft/chewy and delicious. They are not as sturdy as a drier, traditional cookie. This recipe filled 2 cookie sheets. Next time I make this I may add a little more spice and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These are definitely the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made or tasted! They are very moist and chewy! Thank you, Cal, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYBRENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These did come out a little drier and not chewy as I had expected but they are very good when washed down with some coconut milk! Yum! I also ate them hot so they may be better once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States