Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
It was OK, but definitely not fantastic. My guilty pleasure is eating oatmeal cookie dough. When I went to make some tonight, I realized I was out of butter, so I searched for a recipe I could use oil with. I stumbled upon this. The first problem was that the dough was so dense. I was right, it just wasn't good. I guess the butter coats the sugar molecules differently? So, I actually cooked them this time. Mine turned out a bit fluffy with a slight crunch, which I'm sure tons of people love, but for me, I wanted a nice chewy cookie- this wasn't it. My husband will like them, but I'm definitely going to save my guilty pleasure for when I actually have butter in the house next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe will go in the "use daily" file because these cookies don't stay around for more than a few hours. Everyone in the family loves the moist, tasty, rich cookies that are so much better than using butter. I would recommend this recipe without reservation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Very good. Healthier using a veg oil instead of butter or margarine. I used safflower oil instead of canola oil. I increased baking soda to 1 tsp for a fluffier cookie. I used light brown sugar. Baked at 330 because I had dark nonstick pans. Otherwise no changes. Other reviewers are right, the dough looks like wet, sticky granola. I dropped it by the dinner spoon full (about tablespoon) onto the pans. Then wet my hand and shaped each drop into more of a ball or mound to compact the dough a bit. The cookies spread a little with baking but not much and resulted in a "normal" height and size cookie, very moist, soft/chewy and delicious. They are not as sturdy as a drier, traditional cookie. This recipe filled 2 cookie sheets. Next time I make this I may add a little more spice and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These are definitely the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made or tasted! They are very moist and chewy! Thank you, Cal, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYBRENDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These did come out a little drier and not chewy as I had expected but they are very good when washed down with some coconut milk! Yum! I also ate them hot so they may be better once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made it exactly as written minus the raisins and they turned out amazing. I didn't know oatmeal cookies could be so good made with oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Used 1/2 Canola oil, half apple sauce, added 1 cup walnuts, and 1/2 tsp allspice, but followed the recipe, other than those adjustments. Baked 8 minutes. Really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Really enjoyed this cookie. I used safflower oil instead of canola and cut back on the sugar by thirty percent. Will make these again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Springfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
These cookies were delicious. Not too sweet - chewy but with a nice consistency. I felt better about making them with canola oil and the one cup of packed brown sugar. Also, there was a lot of oatmeal used in the recipe and the raisins were just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
So simple, yet tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States