Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Okay, after reading the previous reviews, I think I have a few pointers. Anyone who is having flat cookies is probably not letting the butter soften naturally. This is definitely important - if you use the microwave to soften the butter your cookies will certainly flatten. If you are still having flat cookies you can try and use baking powder instead of baking soda. The next suggestion is to add at least 2 tsp. cinnamon (and possibly some allspice and cloves if you like those flavors - 1/2 tsp. of each). This recipe calls for rolled oats - but this does not mean traditional cooking oats - they are rolled oats also, but so are quick 1-minute oats and they will soften in the oven whereas the traditional oats will not. And whatever reviewer suggested mixing the dough with your hands was a genius. My hands worked so much better than a spoon. And make sure to use 3 jumbo eggs or 4 large eggs to give it enough to keep it together. These cookies when prepared correctly are wonderful. By far the best oatmeal raisin cookie I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
790 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made these after reading many of the reviews. I did modify the recipe a little, and the cookies were perfect...they look just like the picture and taste wonderful, and are not flat at all. First of all, for the people who have trouble with flat cookies, check the expiration on the baking soda. It is easy to have an expired box if you don't bake a lot. I had a new box, but still used one tsp. baking soda and one tsp. baking powder instead of two tsp. soda. I also used four eggs. After reading other reviews, I used two tsp. cinnamon and a few dashes of allspice, and 1/2 tsp. salt. Since I like to experiment, I used 1/2 cup pecans, and added some coconut and chopped dates. I refrigerated the dough for an hour before baking. My husband, whose favorite cookie is oatmeal raisin, says they are the best ever. Since the recipe makes so many, I experimented with some of the dough by adding chopped white chocolate to some of it and chopped semi-sweet chocolate to some of it. I baked all of the cookies for 9 minutes and they came out perfect. One tip: I always use parchment paper to bake cookies. Hope this helps with some of the problems I've read. It really is an excellant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Excellent, entire batch gone in one day! I've already given out this recipe 4 times! I made a few adjustments...half golden raisins, 1 cup walnuts, 1 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves. I also soaked the raisins in 2 eggs and added 1 egg to the batter for easier mixing. Soaking the raisins in the egg makes the difference, never skip this step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I'm feeling a little impatient with people who give a recipe 5 stars, saying it turned out great, and then go on to say that they changed just about EVERY single detail in the recipe. This recipe seems to have collected a lot of that type of "5 star" reviews. After looking through earlier comments, I did the following: added some allspice, added salt, used 1 more egg, used baking powder and baking soda instead of just baking soda, let the butter soften before use, halved the amount of white sugar and lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper. What I ended up with was some excellent cookies, but I DIDN'T USE THIS RECIPE, doggone it. Like many of those who have given this recipe 5 stars, I used a totally different recipe that was gleaned from previous user's comments and my own experience. The difference is I'm not going to give credit where it's not deserved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I printed two oatmeal raisin cookie recipes and this one was so good that I didnt even bother with the other recipe! The cookies weren't fluffy, but they weren't flat either. They were just right. And the taste....heaven! I followed the recipe exactly except when I was mixing. I dumped a little of the egg in early because this dough is pretty stiff and it helped with the mixing. I will be making these again! YUMMY Oh, one tip...let the cookies cool on the pan for about 2 minutes. This makes them easier to take off. Because they are soft cookies, if you try to remove them from the pan right out of the oven, they will just be a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
The best I have ever eaten! Don't make the balls too large as you drop them on the cookie sheet, or the middles will stay gooey. Keep them around a teaspoon to a teaspoon and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA  IN E TN
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I loved these cookies,used 1/2 cup sugar,1/2 cup brown sugar instead of a full cup. I also used 4 eggs instead of 3. My family doesn't like raisins so I added 1 cup of chocolate chips.I used 1 tsp. each of baking powder and soda instead of just the baking soda. I put in a dash of nutmeg with the cinnamon.We couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
The first 2 times I made these cookies they spread too much and were flat, altho the flavor was DELICIOUS! Today I rolled the dough into logs in plastic wrap and popped 'em in the freezer for awhile, then sliced and baked on parchment covered cookie sheets. They took a little longer to bake because the dough was cold (15 Minutes) but they came out picture perfect! Rolling the dough made everything go soo quick and easy! I had about a dozen on a plate on the kitchen table when guests dropped by, and they all thought the cookies were from a bakery. The plate was empty in no time! I would imagine the dough logs would keep nicely tightly wrapped in the fridge or the freezer, to slice, bake and pop in the oven anytime! I add 1/2 cup more flour, and more raisins. I don't use the nuts. Make sure you have plenty of milk on hand..these are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I followed the additional tips of making sure my butter was softened naturally, as well as the OP's of soaking the raisins (srsly, why had I never thought of that,lol). I added chopped walnuts and a bit more cinn & cloves cause I like em a bit spicy, and they were fanfreakintastic! I did notice that when they were just out of the oven, they were a bit more "cakey" than I was hoping, but once they cooled they took on the consistancy i was hoping for originally...you know, flattened a bit, densed up some, but were still soft and bendy and flexi goodness. Definitely a keeper recipe for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I don't bother to soak the raisins and they are still perfect. I'm only a little curious as to how that extra step could make these any better. I also add a cup of chocolate chips--the combination of flavors makes them especially delicious. These have been a part of my Christmas cookie trays for more than 3o years and I always make them a little more special and festive by dressing them up with a maraschino cherry half before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States