Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Disclaimer: I made some substitutions. These cookies came out fluffy & cakey, not flat at all. I replaced half the butter with applesauce. I replaced almost half the flour with almond meal. I used 1 flax egg. I used only brown sugar & replaced the white sugar with 1/2 c brown rice syrup. So I guess it's a different cookie all together, but if you're looking to make a healthier oatmeal raisin cookie, this recipe can serve as a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
great recipe. made it for our guest and they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Turned out pretty good. There are very few recipes I won't tweak here or there just to take advantage of different ingredients I have on hand. The only thing I did differently was to use dried cranberries instead of raisins. I doubled up on the pecans because my family really likes them (and because my mom gave me about 20 lbs of pecans). I think soaking the dried fruit before mixing helps make the cookies a little more soft & chewy. Thumbs up from my teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dudemeister

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was very tasty! I didn't have any butter on hand so I substituted Crisco and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTIBUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisha Chambers
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Loveeee this recipe! I added chocolate chips rather than pecans-because I'm allergic to nuts! Soaking the raisins made a huge difference! Just delish! I found the dough a little dry so I ended up mixing with my hards-they turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisha Chambers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allly7
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Just baked these on a snow day here in PA. My hubby's favorite cookies are oatmeal raisin and these are the best he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Awesome cookies. As others, I made a few small changes. I used 4 large eggs, 2 tsp. cinnamon and a shake of all spice. Because my husband doesn't like nuts in anything, I eliminated the pecans - this time - but they will be added next time. I didn't read all the reviews, but I baked mine on air bake pans using my convection setting at 325 degrees for the allotted 10 minutes and allowed them to cool on the pans for 5 minutes before removing to the countertop. Turned out crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. The only thing I couldn't figure out is how anyone got 6 dozen out of this recipe. I came up with 42 3" diameter cookies. UPDATE: 2-9-14. I made another batch of these wonderful cookies. This time I used chopped dried apricots, craisins and pecans and added a dash of cloves along with the cinnamon and allspice. AWESOME once again!! I also forgot to mention that I used C&H "Light" sgugar (sugar & stevia blend). I don't know if this makes a difference in texture and chewiness or not, but I have never made a cookie that keeps its texture and chewiness like these do. I will be printing this recipe and sharing with my kids. They may not have grown up on this recipe, but there's no reason their kids shouldn't. Thank you for a wonderful recipe Gerirein!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really good cookie. I added cloves, ginger, and nutmeg, just to add more flavor. I always use parchment paper and baked them for 13 minutes. They turned out great. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great cookies! I am not a big cookie fan but I will be for these from now on. Did add 1 extra egg, nutmeg and all spice. The batter was thick enough that I rolled into balls and flattened them a little they came out a perfect circle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These are better than store bought. Beware though, I could not stop eating them. I followed the recipe exactly (leaving butter out for 1/2 a day) other than substituting walnuts for pecans. Delicious! Mine were very moist even the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States