Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I really can't rate these cookies as an original recipe, i changed up the sugar to use splenda brown sugar, added baking powder and used half applesauce for the half the fat. Although these are tasty they are way to cakey for me. I really like them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These were not as good as I had hoped they would be. With two cups total of sugar I thought they would be sweeter than they were. I actually thought they were kind of bland. I also felt they needed more raisins. Just not what I was expecting I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
First try. Loved it. Think the 10 mins is the key to making sure it's not dry and crusty. I used chopped walnuts instead and a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JungleJee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Very good and chewy! I ran out of raisins - so I used Craisins instead. I also didn't have enough butter so I used some lard. They were still very good! Made about 5 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe! I made it exactly as it said but added two globs of molasses. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious! Makes more like six dozen cookies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I have made these cookies several time with no adjustments and they turn out fabulous each time. As another suggested let the butter soften naturally, also be sure to sift the dry ingredients together. Follow the steps in order and mix with your hands at the end. So often people just throw all the ingredients together disregarding the directions. This is the only oatmeal raisin cookie recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was excellent, they were gone in the same day!! I use it all the time now, everybody loves when I make them. Wouldn't trade or change a thing!!!.....Sis J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I read several reviews before making this recipe. I followed the reviewers recommendations. I used 4 large eggs, 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. 1/2 tsp salt. 2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp nutmeg. i soaked the raisins in the egg mixture for 45 mins - next time i will leave it overnight as the raisins weren't plum enough for me. Plus i would increase the raisins - not enough for me. I omitted the nuts as I had just made another cookie a week ago that already had nuts in it. Depending on the texture i would add more quick oats to get right texture. After spooning the batter on the cookie sheet i put the tray in the fridge for 10 mins or so, which helped big time with the cookie keeping its form and not going flat as others said it did. The cookies were soft but really needed more raisin or the nuts. Makes a huge batch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I followed some of the suggestions (added an egg, used baking soda and powder, added 1/2 tsp salt, allowed the butter to soften naturally), but added a modification I use with nearly every recipe that includes raisins: I increased the quantity of raisins by half (in this case, to 1 1/2 cups) and soaked them overnight in brandy. Obviously, I omitted the Works really well with raisin bread, and it sure tasted good in these cookies! Any brandy will do, but a fruity one is a plus in cookies or cakes. The raisins are plump and moist, have a nice flavor, and do not taste "boozy". The brandy can be reused several times- just add enough to cover the fruit each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States