Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Whoa! Tastiest oatmeal raisin cookies ever! I used unsalted butter, let it warm to room temperature (no microwave melting!), used 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder, added 1 tsp of salt (due to the unsalted butter), upped the cinnamon to 2 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp each of ground cloves and allspice. Refrigerated the dough for about an hour, and baked at 11 minutes. SO good! Next time I'll try a bit less sugar (they were pretty sweet), and add 1 c of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
NOT a good recipe. I followed it to a tee and the cookies came out flat, black on bottom. The flavor is good, but they certainly can't be brought anywhere. Horrible! Don't fall for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Very good. A family Favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I usually do the recipe on top of the oatmeal box. This one is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best Oatmeal Raisin cookie recipe I've ever made! By far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband who doesn't like oatmeal raisin cookies even likes these. Soaking the raisins really makes a big difference. Easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Wonderful cookies, will make again, and again. My cookies were not flat, but I used butter at room temp, and substituted the 1 c white sugar for 1/2 c agave syrup (which is sweeter than sugar and healthier) and I made an adjustment using 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also always add my secret ingred.-nutmeg. 1/4 tsp. I also did not have dark raisins and substituted 1/2 c golden raisins with 1/2 c dried cranberries and added 1/2 c dark choc chips. Family always love this recipe and occasionally I will add 1/2 c applesauce for added moisture in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I modified this recipe A LOT, but the modified version turned out great, so I'm sure the original would, too. Here are the changes that I made: - Substituted 1C peanut butter for the butter (yummm) - Substituted 1/2C honey for the white sugar - Used 2 1/2C whole wheat pastry flour instead of the all-purpose - Subbed 1/2C dark chocolate chips for the pecans Because of all of these changes, I had to end up making a pan full of cookie bars instead of individual round cookies. I baked them for about 15 minutes in a 9x13" metal pan. They are DELICIOUS, although a tad on the crumbly side, and I suppose a tiny bit healthier than the original recipe. Definitely calorie dense! One thing that I won't do again is use both cinnamon and chocolate chips. I regretted doing so the minute I realized it. Cinnamon and chocolate are kind of icky together, so if you're going to use chocolate instead of nuts, omit the cinnamon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
What a great soft cookie! I used quick oats and substituted 1 cup of flour for whole wheat flour and they turned out great! I didn't use the pecans and thought the cookies were a little sweet for my taste. Next time I will try using a little less sugar and adding an extra cup of raisins. I also followed other reviewers suggestions of using 4 large eggs and mixing the dough by hand when adding the oats. For the other mixing steps I used my hand mixer and it went well. I baked them using parchment paper and let the cookies cool a little before removing to avoid breaking them. By dropping the dough in teaspoonfuls, this recipe yielded almost double the 36 servings indicated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
YUM! I loved these! I followed a few suggestions, 4 eggs instead of 3, 1tsp baking soda and baking powder rather than just 2 of the soda, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp all spice. I put them right on the baking sheet, no parchment paper or anything. A little flat? Yeah a little, but it's an oatmeal raisin cookie, I didn't want a cake like cookie anyways, they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States