Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I usually do the recipe on top of the oatmeal box. This one is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best Oatmeal Raisin cookie recipe I've ever made! By far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My husband who doesn't like oatmeal raisin cookies even likes these. Soaking the raisins really makes a big difference. Easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Wonderful cookies, will make again, and again. My cookies were not flat, but I used butter at room temp, and substituted the 1 c white sugar for 1/2 c agave syrup (which is sweeter than sugar and healthier) and I made an adjustment using 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also always add my secret ingred.-nutmeg. 1/4 tsp. I also did not have dark raisins and substituted 1/2 c golden raisins with 1/2 c dried cranberries and added 1/2 c dark choc chips. Family always love this recipe and occasionally I will add 1/2 c applesauce for added moisture in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I modified this recipe A LOT, but the modified version turned out great, so I'm sure the original would, too. Here are the changes that I made: - Substituted 1C peanut butter for the butter (yummm) - Substituted 1/2C honey for the white sugar - Used 2 1/2C whole wheat pastry flour instead of the all-purpose - Subbed 1/2C dark chocolate chips for the pecans Because of all of these changes, I had to end up making a pan full of cookie bars instead of individual round cookies. I baked them for about 15 minutes in a 9x13" metal pan. They are DELICIOUS, although a tad on the crumbly side, and I suppose a tiny bit healthier than the original recipe. Definitely calorie dense! One thing that I won't do again is use both cinnamon and chocolate chips. I regretted doing so the minute I realized it. Cinnamon and chocolate are kind of icky together, so if you're going to use chocolate instead of nuts, omit the cinnamon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
What a great soft cookie! I used quick oats and substituted 1 cup of flour for whole wheat flour and they turned out great! I didn't use the pecans and thought the cookies were a little sweet for my taste. Next time I will try using a little less sugar and adding an extra cup of raisins. I also followed other reviewers suggestions of using 4 large eggs and mixing the dough by hand when adding the oats. For the other mixing steps I used my hand mixer and it went well. I baked them using parchment paper and let the cookies cool a little before removing to avoid breaking them. By dropping the dough in teaspoonfuls, this recipe yielded almost double the 36 servings indicated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
YUM! I loved these! I followed a few suggestions, 4 eggs instead of 3, 1tsp baking soda and baking powder rather than just 2 of the soda, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp all spice. I put them right on the baking sheet, no parchment paper or anything. A little flat? Yeah a little, but it's an oatmeal raisin cookie, I didn't want a cake like cookie anyways, they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
So good, I didn't have any pecans but will make sure I do next time, they can only make this cookie better. Thanks for the recipe, the kids and hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very nice texture and flavour. Cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup white and brown sugar(don't like overly sweet cookies) Omitted the pecans(nut alergy) Otherwise kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
the secret it not only soaking the raisins, its soaking the raisins in baylies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States