Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
How can anyone give a recipe 5 stars when they have had to change literally everything. In the words of Karl whose advise made awesome cookies.....I'm feeling a little impatient with people who give a recipe 5 stars, saying it turned out great, and then go on to say that they changed just about EVERY single detail in the recipe. This recipe seems to have collected a lot of that type of "5 star" reviews. After looking through earlier comments, I did the following: added some allspice, added salt, used 1 more egg, used baking powder and baking soda instead of just baking soda, let the butter soften before use, halved the amount of white sugar and lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper. What I ended up with was some excellent cookies, but I DIDN'T USE THIS RECIPE, doggone it. Like many of those who have given this recipe 5 stars, I used a totally different recipe that was gleaned from previous user's comments and my own experience. The difference is I'm not going to give credit where it's not deserved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Yuk! I made these exactly as written. I thought I was going to get a cavity while eating one. WAY too much sugar. WAY too much butter as well. And this is coming from a gourmet cupcake baker. It tasted like I was eating a ball of butter with sugar mixed in. At least the cookies looked great coming out of the oven. If I were to change anything, I would substitute half of the butter with coconut oil or applesauce. Cut the sugars in half like other viewers suggested, 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda and add more spices such as ground clover, ginger, nutmeg and/or allspice. I think I will just stick to my oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tatiana tyson
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My kids love these !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatiana tyson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Soft, chewy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it didn't work. The batter didn't stick together which means cookies cannot be formed. I did my best to make the cookies form and attempted to bake them and ended up with cooked oatmeal. HUGE waste of money and a HUGE disappointment. Those of you who are giving this recipe 5 stars after modifying the recipe are doing an injustice to your fellow bakers. Horrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made them and swapped the raisins with dried cranberries and they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great, with modifications! I add an extra egg yolk (tried it once with a whole egg, and felt they were just a tiny bit too soft. Just the yolk does the trick for me). I also used one tsp of baking powder with 1 tsp of baking soda, 2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp each of allspice and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Changed NOTHING. Love the cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Only thing I changed in the recipe was adding 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 C mini chocolate chip morsels and 1/4 tsp. cardamon. Have made this recipe several times and it is consistent and delicious. The cookies don't flatten out, but remain thickish and are a little crunchy just like I like them. Softer cookie, just cook a little less time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States