Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Leslie
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This had to be the world's WORST cookie recipe EVER!!!! Cookies looked like gooey flapjacks! Couldn't even scrape them off the cookie sheet. I would rather spend extra money and buy them at a bakery. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I read several reviews before making this recipe. I followed the reviewers recommendations. I used 4 large eggs, 1 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda. 1/2 tsp salt. 2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp nutmeg. i soaked the raisins in the egg mixture for 45 mins - next time i will leave it overnight as the raisins weren't plum enough for me. Plus i would increase the raisins - not enough for me. I omitted the nuts as I had just made another cookie a week ago that already had nuts in it. Depending on the texture i would add more quick oats to get right texture. After spooning the batter on the cookie sheet i put the tray in the fridge for 10 mins or so, which helped big time with the cookie keeping its form and not going flat as others said it did. The cookies were soft but really needed more raisin or the nuts. Makes a huge batch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I followed some of the suggestions (added an egg, used baking soda and powder, added 1/2 tsp salt, allowed the butter to soften naturally), but added a modification I use with nearly every recipe that includes raisins: I increased the quantity of raisins by half (in this case, to 1 1/2 cups) and soaked them overnight in brandy. Obviously, I omitted the Works really well with raisin bread, and it sure tasted good in these cookies! Any brandy will do, but a fruity one is a plus in cookies or cakes. The raisins are plump and moist, have a nice flavor, and do not taste "boozy". The brandy can be reused several times- just add enough to cover the fruit each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
How can anyone give a recipe 5 stars when they have had to change literally everything. In the words of Karl whose advise made awesome cookies.....I'm feeling a little impatient with people who give a recipe 5 stars, saying it turned out great, and then go on to say that they changed just about EVERY single detail in the recipe. This recipe seems to have collected a lot of that type of "5 star" reviews. After looking through earlier comments, I did the following: added some allspice, added salt, used 1 more egg, used baking powder and baking soda instead of just baking soda, let the butter soften before use, halved the amount of white sugar and lined my cookie sheets with parchment paper. What I ended up with was some excellent cookies, but I DIDN'T USE THIS RECIPE, doggone it. Like many of those who have given this recipe 5 stars, I used a totally different recipe that was gleaned from previous user's comments and my own experience. The difference is I'm not going to give credit where it's not deserved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Yuk! I made these exactly as written. I thought I was going to get a cavity while eating one. WAY too much sugar. WAY too much butter as well. And this is coming from a gourmet cupcake baker. It tasted like I was eating a ball of butter with sugar mixed in. At least the cookies looked great coming out of the oven. If I were to change anything, I would substitute half of the butter with coconut oil or applesauce. Cut the sugars in half like other viewers suggested, 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda and add more spices such as ground clover, ginger, nutmeg and/or allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tatiana tyson
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My kids love these !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tatiana tyson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Soft, chewy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it didn't work. The batter didn't stick together which means cookies cannot be formed. I did my best to make the cookies form and attempted to bake them and ended up with cooked oatmeal. HUGE waste of money and a HUGE disappointment. Those of you who are giving this recipe 5 stars after modifying the recipe are doing an injustice to your fellow bakers. Horrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made them and swapped the raisins with dried cranberries and they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States