Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made these yesterday and they were a huge hit, BUT after reading some reviews I did not stick to the original recipe so I can't really rate the recipe as it is exactly. The changes I made are: I used an extra 1/4 cup flour (1 1/2 cup total); used shortening instead of butter (equal amount); doubled the vanilla (we're vanilla fans); added 1/4 tsp nutmeg; added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (this gave them a nice subtle pumpkiny flavor, if you're into that). Also, while I was preparing the dough, the raisins were plumping in a bowl of hot water (with more vanilla) and they were so moist and yummy in the finished product. Adding walnuts would have been fantastic, but I didn't have any on hand and will definitely try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Look no further for a soft good oatmeal cookie. My cookie never spread or anything but then I did not use a mixer I just used a wooden spoon to mix everything and for my family I added ground cloves and a little more cinnamon for extra flavor. The total cooking time was 8 minutes and they were perfect and still chewy the next day. I find the recipe versatile because I also added chocolate chips and walnuts but even without them this cookie is a winner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe always turns out fantastic! They don't last long in our house! Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Perfect template recipe. Instead of 1 cup of raisins, I added 1/3 cup cranberries, 1/3 cup walnuts and 1/3 cup chocolate chunks. I also added a 1/4tsp allspice and 1/8tsp nutmeg. Perfect oatmeal cookies. Soft and chewy. I might do 1/2cup each of cranberries, walnut pieces and chocolate chunks next time. They make good big cookies but it takes a few extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv 2 Cook/Luv 2 Eat
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Just added one more item to this recipe and that was M&M's (the peanut ones), and boy Oh boy did they ever turn out perfect! Just look at my pic of them, I got 34 good size cookies out of this recipe, and yes, I followed what other users said and that is to soak your rasins in a bowl of water for at least 30 min. prior to mixing and boy do you ever have a super moist cookie with rasins & M&M's :) Just mix in the M&M's with the rasins, the end result is you have a fiber moist/crunchy rich cookie. Fiber is important in today's diet and just look at all the cookies you get from this recipe, at least 30-36 good size cookies. Enjoy!!!! See my pic with rasins & M&M's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook/Luv 2 Eat

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Made it just like the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is a great recipe delicious! I usually don't write a review but before I tried this recipe I seen all the 5 stars then I seen the one star review. They must have not read the directions or missed a step maybe didn't put in the baking soda or something because these were easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Best oatmeal raisin cookie ever. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as listed and I found that it turned out very well. I sprayed the cookie sheet with some canola oil cooking spray and had no problems with the cookies sticking as long as I let them cool on the pan for a few minutes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Easy to make! Hubby loves them! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States