Oatmeal Pudding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
GREAT COOKIE WITH THE MINOR CHANGES I MADE TO IT. I SUBSTITUTED PART OF THE BUTTER WITH ABOUT 4 OZ OF APPLESAUCE SINCE I DID NOT HAVE THE EXACT AMOUNT CALLED FOR. I DECREASED THE AMOUNT OF OATS TO 2-1/2 CUPS INSTEAD OF THE 3-1/2 CUPS CALLED FOR. I ADDED IN 1-TSP OF CINNAMON FOR EXTRA FLAVOR. I WAS ABLE TO GET ABOUT 3-1/2 DOZEN LARGE COOKIES OUT OF THE DOUGH. MY BOYFRIEND LOVED THEM SO MUCH THE NIGHT I MADE THEM THAT HE ENDED UP EATING HALF THE CONTAINER WHEN HE CAME HOME FROM WORK LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxann Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
the best cookie yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were fantastic! Changes I made were using 1 c butter in place of shortening, only used 2 1/2c oats based on other reviews, and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp allspice. Also used dried cranberries in place of raisins. So delicious, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Followed to a T! FAAAABULOUS! I'm not big on raisins so I opted not to use them. I couldn't find my aunt's recipe, so I searched and found this, and this is THE closest and BEST I've found in comparison! Thank you to the person who posted this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried these for the first time with butter (while not great for you, a whole lot better than the hydrogenated oil that is shortening), all brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract and 2-1/2 cups oats. They were great, but the cooking time almost doubled. That's fine for the cookie; it's not so good for the raisins I added. The second time, I added a little of the regular sugar and cooking time was diminished - maybe 13-14 minutes, I think. I also baked 2 cookie sheets' worth at a time, rotating from top rack to lower rack and vice versa about 1/2 way through. I'm going to try to add some cinnamon next time. My husband and kids love these cookies. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Well, my biggest mistake is that I only had sugar-free pudding, so that's what I used and they're still pretty good... The pudding mix was white chocolate (not sure if that really made a difference). I reduced the oats to 2 1/2 cups and added vanilla like previous reviewers suggested. I also added about 3/4 cup of both milk chocolate and white chocolate baking chips. Not the best cookies I've ever made, but they'll do ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This cookie dough was very dry and crumbly. The flour AND oatmeal in the proportions listed was too much. No liquid ingredients to bind it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I needed to use that lone box of pudding mix and this fit the bill nicely. I made a dozen of them plain, then added some chocolate chips for the next batch, and added dried cranberries for the last dozen. Yummy. They are a little bland. Next time I think I'll add some cinnamon or ginger to perk them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The cookies were a bit dry. I needed to find a way to use up some instant vanilla pudding mix and this seemed like a good idea. They didn't spread much on the pan so after the first batch I flattened them before baking. DH says they are really good. They didn't do much for me. He'll be taking them to work tomorrow. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Fantastic cookies! I used pumpkin spice pudding & cinnamon chips in my Thanksgiving contribution. Per the other reviews, I used 2.5c of oats because I didn't have time to remake them if 3.5 was too dry. I think I'll stick with 2.5 when I make these again. These would make a great base for monster cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States