Oatmeal Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I like this pie. I did 1/2 the sugar called for white and the other half brown, added only 1/4 tsp cloves and added 1 tps vanilla. It was very good. I covered my crust with foil for the whole hour bake time and it was still dark brown. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This tastes like a combination of pecan pie and shoo-fly pie. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly - both times I made it. I cheat and use the Pillsbury pie crust from the dairy case. I had my doubts the first time I made it because the filling seemed runny - but it baked woderfully. This is super easy to put together and I usually have all of the ingredients in the pantry. I would recommend this and I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
My son's favorite new pie. Reminds me of the Mondo famous Oatmeal Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TasteKing
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I decided to forego the cloves and cinnamon and add the 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 1 cup of pecan halves along with the oatmeal. This was a huge success. The pie tastes like a cross between a brownie and a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My family loved this when I made it for them at Christmas. I used a differed type of crust, and the filling was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is absolutely delicious!!! I did add 1/4 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also sprinked some chopped pecans on top. The pie came out picture perfect. My children and husband finished it off in one night. I have been looking for this recipie since 1991 after having it at a restaurant in Iowa City. This was exactly like it. Thanks so much for sharing. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was very good! I made this into a pecan pie. My mother even said that it was better than her mother's pecan pie: not overwhelmingly sweet, and the oats added a nice texture. I am making this again for an upcoming event. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was AWESOME!! I added 1/3 c. brown sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla, decreased cloves to 1/4 tsp. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I would give this 5 stars, but I'm the only one who liked it at Thanksgiving! I think it's delicious and a great option when you want pecan pie, but don't have any pecans - my mother and aunt didn't agree, however. They didn't like it at all. Normally that would be enough to make me give it a 3, but I liked it enough for all of us. :) Edited to add: I made this for another party I went to and everyone LOVED it. So I'm ignoring my family's rating, and going with 5 stars. My friend who's allergic to pecans loved this as an alternative to pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is pretty good, but I don't think it tastes like pecan pie. I was a bit concerned that it would be too sweet, so I did cut the white sugar back to 1/3 cup. It is an interesting idea and I may make it again, possiblt with the chocolate changes. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States