Oatmeal Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is absolutely delicious!!! I did add 1/4 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also sprinked some chopped pecans on top. The pie came out picture perfect. My children and husband finished it off in one night. I have been looking for this recipie since 1991 after having it at a restaurant in Iowa City. This was exactly like it. Thanks so much for sharing. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I thought this recipe was nothing like the oatmeal pie I have enjoyed at Mondo's in Iowa City. The filling was too eggy and a little too runny. I took out one egg 1/4 c. of the corn syrup and then added 1/4 c. of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This tastes like a combination of pecan pie and shoo-fly pie. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly - both times I made it. I cheat and use the Pillsbury pie crust from the dairy case. I had my doubts the first time I made it because the filling seemed runny - but it baked woderfully. This is super easy to put together and I usually have all of the ingredients in the pantry. I would recommend this and I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
My son's favorite new pie. Reminds me of the Mondo famous Oatmeal Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is pretty good, but I don't think it tastes like pecan pie. I was a bit concerned that it would be too sweet, so I did cut the white sugar back to 1/3 cup. It is an interesting idea and I may make it again, possiblt with the chocolate changes. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was AWESOME!! I added 1/3 c. brown sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla, decreased cloves to 1/4 tsp. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by TasteKing
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I decided to forego the cloves and cinnamon and add the 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 1 cup of pecan halves along with the oatmeal. This was a huge success. The pie tastes like a cross between a brownie and a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I like this pie. I did 1/2 the sugar called for white and the other half brown, added only 1/4 tsp cloves and added 1 tps vanilla. It was very good. I covered my crust with foil for the whole hour bake time and it was still dark brown. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
It was very easy to make and can be made with items from around the house. The problem is I wasn't too impressed with the taste. I added brown sugar, and vanilla - it didn't seem to help. Probably won't make this again - just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My family loved this when I made it for them at Christmas. I used a differed type of crust, and the filling was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States