Oatmeal Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
My family loved this when I made it for them at Christmas. I used a differed type of crust, and the filling was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This tastes like a combination of pecan pie and shoo-fly pie. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly - both times I made it. I cheat and use the Pillsbury pie crust from the dairy case. I had my doubts the first time I made it because the filling seemed runny - but it baked woderfully. This is super easy to put together and I usually have all of the ingredients in the pantry. I would recommend this and I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is absolutely delicious!!! I did add 1/4 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also sprinked some chopped pecans on top. The pie came out picture perfect. My children and husband finished it off in one night. I have been looking for this recipie since 1991 after having it at a restaurant in Iowa City. This was exactly like it. Thanks so much for sharing. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
It was very easy to make and can be made with items from around the house. The problem is I wasn't too impressed with the taste. I added brown sugar, and vanilla - it didn't seem to help. Probably won't make this again - just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
My son's favorite new pie. Reminds me of the Mondo famous Oatmeal Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was very good! I made this into a pecan pie. My mother even said that it was better than her mother's pecan pie: not overwhelmingly sweet, and the oats added a nice texture. I am making this again for an upcoming event. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very good - my kids loved it. I think there is a bit too much cloves in it. . . before baking it, the smell of cloves really overwhelmed everything. But after it was baked, it wasn't AS strong. Even so, I think I would still cut the cloves to 1/4 tsp. I baked mine in a tart pan and it looked beautiful. I'm guessing if it was baked in a regular pie plate it would be on the thin side because my tart was very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I like this pie. I did 1/2 the sugar called for white and the other half brown, added only 1/4 tsp cloves and added 1 tps vanilla. It was very good. I covered my crust with foil for the whole hour bake time and it was still dark brown. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I thought this recipe was nothing like the oatmeal pie I have enjoyed at Mondo's in Iowa City. The filling was too eggy and a little too runny. I took out one egg 1/4 c. of the corn syrup and then added 1/4 c. of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TasteKing
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I decided to forego the cloves and cinnamon and add the 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 1 cup of pecan halves along with the oatmeal. This was a huge success. The pie tastes like a cross between a brownie and a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States