Oatmeal Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made the pie 'filling' exactly as written.The filling tasted great and I couldn't even tell it had any oatmeal in it. The oatmeal kind of disappears into the filling. Instead of a regular crust I used the 'coconut crust' on this website and found it was just too much coconut for this filling. Next time I am looking forward to making a regular pie crust with flour & butter for this delicious filling. The filling is quite sweet for the delight of those who have a sweet tooth, but those who do not like highly sweet things might not be as into this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyTummy
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Loved this! Melted the butter. Added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips. This was our Derby pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Reminds me of a pecan pie, without the pecans.. It was a little too sweet for me, but still very good.. will decrease the sugar a little next time. But I had also made a graham cracker crust to go with this as one reviewer did....maybe that's what made it a bit sweet. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Simply DELICIOUS! First time I made exactly as the recipe stated, except I added some additional coconut and we don't like pie crust so I did a graham cracker crust with additional coconut in it! WONDERFUL! Second time I made this I added dark chocolate chips to the pie mixture - OMG this is like a big gooey chocolate chip oatmeal cookie! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I was looking for a nice alternative to pecan pie and I had most of the ingredients in my cupboard for this one and thought I would give it a try. It was fantastic! Easy to make and even easier to gobble down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great pie. Quick to make and almost as good as a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Excellent pie. Very easy. The pie baked perfectly in 45 minutes at 325 degrees. Other reviewers have suggested a longer baking time. I did not find this necessary. Made it for guests last Sunday, and will make it again this weekend for guests. Big hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I love this pie. I got my 12 year old eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen Ohlde
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie was incredibly easy to make . What is nice about this pie is there is no need for spices. Its flavor is comprised entirely of the ingredients. I did not use salt at all and I reduced the baking time by 5 minutes. This gave the pie a softer texture inside which we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought this pie was really yummy but it just didn't have enough of a texture for me, I was expecting something maybe more chewy like oatmeal cookie texture. Flavour was very nice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States