Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Loved it! Just two changes: I added 50% more oatmeal (old fashioned)because I love oatmeal. Then, I rolled them into large balls and flattened partially with a cup. The ended up big and thick and a little chewy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe and really liked it, however my recipe has vanilla and country crock butter substitute and no oil. I make mine with smooth peanut butter and shredded coconut (fresh if possible). My daughter (now 39) called them After School Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deniseyoussef
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Yummy!!! A definite keeper in my recipe box! I didn't have shortening so I used coconut oil with the butter (it gave them a nice subtle coconut flavor) .... And I only had about a 1/2 cup of pb left so I used what I had .... And I added some dark choc chips for fun!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenR
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I converted this recipe to be gluten free and they were fantastic! I was concerned that the batter would be too moist after creaming together the oils/sugars, etc., so I increased the gluten-free flour mixture to 2 cups and increased the oats to 1.75 cups. I used crunchy peanut butter and I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I baked the cookies 15 minutes and they came out perfectly and wonderfully moist. This recipe will be my go-to for peanut butter cookies. My last comment is to replace the margarine with real butter. Margarine is the worst thing to put in anything. It's nasty and bad for you. I used salted butter because that's all I buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe. I did substitute butter for margarine (margarine tastes like mayonnaise to me), added 1/2 tsp vanilla, and cut back the salt to 1/2 tsp (I was using a homemade peanut butter that was made with salted peanuts). These cookies are really, as one reviewer said, more of a sugar cookie than a peanut butter cookie- the sugar is more prominent than anything else. After sitting and cooling, the initial greasiness goes away, and you do get a chewy cookie. I think, with less sugar and maybe a little more flour, you could have a stellar cookie. These are certainly edible, but I'm going to keep searching for the perfect chewy peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I use all butter (salted sweet cream butter) instead of shortening and margarine. I add extra pb and oats. I make sure dough is cooler to keep cookies from flattening during baking. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I baked exactly as is except added 1tsp of vanilla for extra flavour. Overall they were a very flavourful and tastes cookie!! Chilled my dough in the freezer for a few minutes before the first batch and between batches and also cooled the cookie sheets between batches and my cookies turned out quite flat. Next time I will try adding extra flour. I will also reduce the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olive Eckwin
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olive Eckwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I thought these tasted good. My only change was using all butter and making 1/2 recipe. I baked them on a parchment lined sheet and removed them from the oven at 14 minutes. I ate one warm, but found the edges sort of crispy. I hope the cookie does not get more crispy or crunchy as it cools. The main picture makes them look fluffy and soft, which is more of what I wanted. They do poof up a bit in the oven, but then flatted out a tad in the center when done baking. This will fulfill a peanut butter craving I am having, but Mrs Sigg peanut butter cookies are still my favorite from the site. I made 1/2 recipe and got 29 cookies using a cookie scoop. I would recommend this recipe for a simple lunch box cookie. Still, way less sweet than store bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by isabell8b
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Didn't change anything. Husband and kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States