Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This doesn't make a lot (approx. 15 cookies when put together, 22 using my smallest scooper), so when you double this, don't double the filling. It's more than enough ...trust me if you don't want to go into a sugar shock!!! lol A thin layer is plenty sweet. Thought this was useful to know, so ingredients aren't wasted. Also, when applying the filling especially when you get anxious like me, it's easier to do it while the cookie is on a flat surface instead of trying to hold it in your hand or raised. The cookie will break in half. 10 min. was perfect baking time. It helps to refrigerate for a little while to ensure cookies aren't flat, but definitely flatten w/fork. While it does flatten, to get that perfect cookie as pictured, it requires you to flatten a little. Using ingredients that are room temperature helps w/the overall consistency of the final product. These were a hit, and people are always amazed these were baked not bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I made these without the filling, and they're delicious as a stand-alone cookie! Super quick and easy, too. The trick is to avoid the temptation to over-bake them, because they don't LOOK done when they come out of the oven, but they set up nicely as they cool. I make mine slightly bigger than the recipe says and bake for exactly 10 minutes, and let them cool four or five minutes before removing them from the sheet. This is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fredthemammoth
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is my go-to cookie for showing off. I dip mine in chocolate also when they're done. Who doesn't love the peanut butter-chocolate combo? Over a double boiler over medium low heat melt three 4 oz bars of ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate, or 12 oz of semisweet chocolate chips along with about 3-4 tbsp of crisco. Dip the cookies into the chocolate. I usually dip just one side. Sometimes I dip the whole top of the cookie. You could try the whole cookie in chocolate, but thats pretty indulgent. Anyway, once dipped, set the cookies on wax paper. I do this on the cookies sheets. Then I put a whole sheet of freshly dipped cookies in the freezer. This sets the chocolate. (You can also add sprinkles to the dipped cookies directly after dipping...I shake mine on.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fredthemammoth

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
These were great. However, I modified them the second time I made them. They were a bit too greasy and crumbly and the filling was too thin and I so next time I will make these ingredient and measurement modifications: 4 tablespoons margarine, softened; 1 cup packed light brown sugar; ½ teaspoon baking soda; ½ teaspoon salt; ¾ cup peanut butter; ¼ milk; 1 egg; 1 teaspoon vanilla extract; 3 cups quick cooking oats (whir regular rolled oats in food processor if you don’t have quick cooking oats); ½ cup flour. 1 tablespoon butter, softened; 1 cup confectioners' sugar; 1/2 cup smooth peanut butter; and 2 ½ tablespoons milk. For a less crumbly, chewier cookie, I've replaced the butter with margarine and decreased the amount. I increased the brown sugar and omitted the white sugar. I also increased the amount of oats and omitted the baking powder. I used a melon baller to scoop batter onto baking sheet to create the perfect size cookie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
HOLY COW ARE THESE GOOD! One of the best cookies I have ever had. I am not sure why (maybe handling of butter) but my cookies did not turn out thin like some of the pictures. Mine puffed up so much that I had to slam them on the counter to deflat them a bit. All of my ingredients were room temp. and I used old fashioned oats (they make a chewier texture) and I used dark brown suger (when gives a little more richness), I also added vanilla extract to both the cookie and the filling. All of these conditions added up to one of the best cookies I've ever had let alone baked myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Love this recipe!!! Instead of making sandwhichs with them, I place a soild circle of chocolate in the middle just before slipping then into the oven. For a bite of peanut butter and chocolate everytime. They are so good I can't keep them away from the anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Everyone loved these. They are different than your ordinary pb cookie. My 2nd batch came out too crispy so next time I will go with 8-9 minutes and chill my dough. I cut down a little bit on the sugars. I didn't have heavy cream so I sub. cream cheese & used less powdered sugar. Delicious! I also only had old fashioned oats but I don't think you can tell the difference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
These are the BEST! Wow, very tasty. I baked the cookies for 8-9 minutes, which was perfect. They are sooo soft, even the next day. And you don't need to flatten the cookies because they flatten on their own while baking. I used skim milk in the filling instead of heavy cream and it was fine. Next time I will double the recipe and use more filling in each cookie sandwich! The user who said these taste like gourmet Nutter Butters was absolutely correct. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These are the BEST!!! I used a melon baller to scoop the dough- helped make them more uniform in size. And for cryin' out loud MAKE THE FILLING!! The cookies are good without it but they're to die for with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
These were awesome! I used a 1/2 oz scoop and they turned out the perfect size. I doubled the recipe and got about 40 cookie sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 870) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States