Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lori Meyer
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Great recipe! But note, chocolate chips don't melt to spreadable, not even after baking. I just baked them along on top the bars, cooled 5 minutes, glazed them and let cool rest of the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtnK8
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is one of my favorites! My aunt makes them often and had given me the recipe, but I didn't have it on hand so I was happy to find it on here! I recommend doubling the peanut butter topping and keep adding milk to the topping until it is able to easily pour over the bars. Then smooth the peanut butter topping over it, mixing it with the soft chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We all loved these bars! I used mini-chips so had no problem at all with them melting. I did have to use more milk but it was an easy fix. We ate them a tad warm and they were great!! Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I absolutely LOVED this recipe! I did change slightly and made it easier. I added the chocolate chips to the cookie batter, and omitted the topping all together. I doubled the recipe and baked in a 11x14 cookie sheet.YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Rating before eating, because like lovestohost posted, could not spread the choc chips. What a disappointment. I have another recipe that is cooked at a 400 oven, where the chips are easily immediately spread them. I even took these out, turned oven up, covered dish with foil and put back in another 5 minutes. No luck. But, I guess we should have had a clue looking at the picture given - those choc chips are not melted and spread either. Waiting for them to cool to try. Used what was left of caramel sauce, mixed with peanut butter and a little confec sugar and milk to get consistency I wanted to dribble over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These were super easy, but the chocolate chips would not spread for me, despite the fact I poured them on the bar immediately after removing from the oven. I would have preferred the chocolate be more of a ganache-ish full layer on top, rather than a smattering of chocolate chips. The PB topping was tough to drizzle, too, despite quadrupling the milk to thin it out. Taste was good, but these were tough to make look "good". Thanks for the recipe, Briecookinglove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My daughter made these and they are delicious. She didn't change anything. We talked about maybe adding rice krispies next time to give it a crunchy texture but taste-wise, they were fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States