Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tina G
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I expected these bars to be dry and crunchy and I was going to put them in school lunches. Instead they are gooey and delicious and I know they won't last until tomorrow! They seem more like dessert than a granola bar to me. I'm going to make another batch to freeze since they came together so quickly. I left out the coconut and used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
What a great recipe! I put a bunch of almonds and walnuts in my bars for extra protein. These are very versatile bars, you can add just about anything from M & M's to white chocolate chips to dried fruit varieties to candybar pieces. These bars have now replaced my usual morning breakfast protien bar. I use honey in place of the corn syrup, they come out wonderful. For those of you who think this bar is dry, I have found the solution. Use 1/2 cup butter/margarine instead of 1/3 cup and melt it before you add it. And bake the bars for 15 minutes instead of 20. These bars don't have any eggs in them so it's okay to underbake them quite a bit, as they will harden up after a few days of sitting on the counter (if they last that long!) Thanks for the recipe, it's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This is a great recipe! I used all natural crunchy peanut butter and honey instead of corn syrup... it was perfect. I also skipped the sunflower seeds and used 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
ok susbstitutions.... agave nectar instead of brown sugar/corn syrup... it's lower glycemic index (but more expensive) and coconut oil and a bit more nut butter instead of regular butter. Coconut oil burns as energy instead of being stored as fat and can help pull fat from reserves to be used for energy, and i used sunflower butter instead of peanut b/c its much healthier but also more expensive, i also added about a 1/3 c of flax for coagulation (helps stuff stick w/o the butter) and for extra fiber and good fats. used walnuts, sesame seeds, raisins and choc chips as my mix ins....... they are AMAZING. i have been experiementing w/recipes for awhile and this is by far the best. After i put the mix in a pan i spread some more sun butter on top and then sprinkled go lean crunch (or granola) for some crunch, it was a great add on. and, we have been keeping them in the fridge which somehow makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Really great. I used corn syrup and honey. Honey alone would work, but I didn't have enough. This is a keeper and NOTHING like a bagged cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
These granola bars are very very good, I dropped the cho. chips and added 1/4 cup of flax seeds and 1/4 cup of sesame seeds instead of the chocolate chips to make them more nutritious. My husband and two boys love them and they are a great snack anytime. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
My husband is a coach and I like to send healthy goodies for his athletes to have at their meets. I have made MANY failed attempts (yes, they were healthy, but were no more then dried out logs of nutrition). This recipe is a keeper! To cut back on the fat, I'd omit the coconut (sorry... my fave, too). I used a low-fat margarine, amlonds instead of sunflower seeds, Hershey's cinnamon chips instead of chocolate and used only 1 1/3 C oatmeal with 2C high protein cereal from Trader Joes. These were so yummy (even BEFORE baking!) that his athletes were lucky to get any. Not bad for a quick hunger fix while awaiting an event or for my kids who can be pretty picky! Thanks, Karen. These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed these bars. I used 1/2 cup butter, honey instead of corn syrup, and 4 teaspoons of vanilla. I also added some soy protein powder to the mix. The chocolate chips, coconut, sunflower seeds, and raisins were omitted. I added Craisins to my bars. I baked the bars for 15 minutes and they were crumbly at first but the bars hardened by the next day. I will make these again and I was so surprised how good they came out. The next time I bake these bars I will use 3 cups of rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Probably would be good no matter what you did! Due to allergies, and cupboard situation I came up with the following which is Sooo delicious: almost 3/4 c. soy butter for peanut butter, honey for corn syrup, strong brewed coffee for vanila, frosted mini-wheats and multi-grain cheerios (crushed) plus 1c. wheat germ for the rolled oats, no brown sugar, milk-free spreadable margarine for the butter, no raisins, more choc. chips, no sunflower seeds. baked for 15 min. Super way to get rid of 'forgotten' cereal in the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Sorry to say I wasn't as thrilled with these as others seem to have been. I did leave out the coconut and sunflower seeds and substituted Sun Maid Dried Fruit Bits for the raisins. They were easy to make, but I felt they were a little greasy - I don't really think with all the peanut butter and corn syrup there was much reason to grease the pan. Basically, they are ok if you are looking for a snack you can make healthier than cookies, but nothing I would make again. My peanut butter loving husband and oatmeal loving toddler aren't interested, so I've got a lot of bars to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States