Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Really great. I used corn syrup and honey. Honey alone would work, but I didn't have enough. This is a keeper and NOTHING like a bagged cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I was not that impressed. I thought these were way too sweet and mine came out very mushy, not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I only add the M&Ms and its like a monster cookie! I am soooo in love with this oh so easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
These are delicious. I did not use corn syrup either but used brown rice syrup. This tastes more like a cookie since it is so sweet. I think the next time I make them, I'll half the brown sugar and the brown rice syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is a versatile recipe. I made the following revisions with excellent results: Substitute corn syrup with ¼ cup honey and four packets of Splenda. I increased butter to ½ cup and used a heaping cup of natural peanut butter. I added ¼ cup bran; ¼ cup almond meal; ½ cup finely chopped prunes; ½ cup peanut butter chips. I omitted the coconut. After I pressed the batter into the pan, I sprinkled a mixture of peanut butter and chocolate chips on top and pressed them into the batter. I also lined my pan with parchment paper for ease of removal after baking… The most important thing for me was to wait until these cooled sufficiently prior to cutting so they don’t crumble. On occasion I’ve loaded these up with chopped nuts as well as nut meal (ground nut meat); freshly ground flaxseeds; and soy protein in an attempt to increase nutritional content. Any and all dried fruit works well in these bars. The addition of chocolate or peanut butter chips makes these much richer and makes them taste as good as any cookie, but it also provides nutrition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Franz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
these bars are great! I have taken them to several sports tournament and the whole team loves them. I did cut back the oatmeal to 3 cups. Even people who don't like raisins or coconut loved them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I followed the advice given by several reviewers. We ate these up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a great snack. I omitted the sunflower seeds and I added Peanut butter chips in addition to the choco-chips and used chunky peanut butter. I took other's advice and baked for about 18 minutes, very moist. One thing I would be careful to do next time around is store in airtight container as opposed to covered in foil, it did dry out quickly. Delish snack that even my kids gobbled up :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Changes: Honey instead of syrup, used pecans, almonds, flax seed, cranberries & any dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States