Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good flavour, so easy and fast to make. I used maple sugar instead of corn syrup and added walnuts and choc.chips. You could add whatever you want to the recipe and it will turn out great. Will make again. Allow to cool completley before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I also used honey instead of corn syrup. They turned out great. Butterscotch chips too. No coconut. I'll try the flax and sesame seeds next time. This is such and easy, quick, somewhat healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except I left out the raisins because I didn't have any. They turned out great! Chewy but not mushy. Very tasty! This is also a recipe you could easily change to your individule taste. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I substituted molaesses for corn syrup for a slightly more heathly bar. The molasses did not overpower the taste (as molasses can), but added sweetness. These bars are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Awesome! Followed the advice of others, substituted honey for corn syrup; no coconut, used what was on hand-almonds, rasians and crasians too; very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yumm. This is like a giant cookie. If you are looking for a healthy granola bar, I would suggest using honey instead of corn syrup, but I followed the recipe exactly. The oats, nuts, and raisins do add nutritional value. These bars are soft and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Perfect delicious snack treat!! I made the following changes based on nutrition and what I had on hand: (1) 1-1/4 cup ALMOND BUTTER instead of peanut butter; (2) added 1/3 cup GROUND FLAX SEED - holds it all together, adds wonderful flavor, boosts nutrition; (3) 1/2 cup MARGARINE - Earth/Smart Balance brand; (4) HONEY not corn syrup; (5) 3/4 cup chopped, TOASTED ALMONDS not seeds; (6) extra DARK CHOCOLATE chopped from chocolate bars; (7) dried CRANBERRIES, not raisins; (8) pressed into bottom of two 11 in x 15 in cookie pan (1/2 in high sides); baked each for 12-15 mins; cut into squares on pan while warm; let cool on pan 20 mins then stored in freezer --- result was an amazingly delicious, crunchy, sweet, healthy(-ier than cookies), addictive, satisfying treat that EVERYONE loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Uh Oh, too yummy! I substituted honey for the syrup and used pecans instead of seeds because that is what I had. I will add wheat germ and a little salt next time. I used a natural peanut butter without salt and I think it could use just a touch. Hmm, maybe not - pretty darn good. . . A good home-made snack for my kids' lunches - and my New Year's resolution of dropping the packaged foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Didn't use raisins, sunflower seeds or coconut. Used applesauce in place of corn syrup and some of the butter. A strong base recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
The batter alone for these is delicious so i know the finished product will be as well! i followed what others had suggested and added honey instead of corn syrup and i melted the 1/2 butter too. i didn't use sunflower seeds since i didn't have on hand. just added extra golden raisins, chocolate chips and some chopped walnuts. Sooooo good and VERY easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Iantosca Reid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States