Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Perfect chewy granola bar recipe! They actually hold together unlike other recipes I've tried. I replaced the PB with almond butter due to my 3 yr old son's allergy & dislike to peanuts, and he loves them. Other changes I made with great results:1/2 c sucanat for brown sugar, 1/3 c. agave syrup for corn syrup, 1/4 c. butter + 1/3 c. flax meal for butter, 1/2 c. craisins for raisins, and omitted choc chips. Pressed firmly in a parchment lined 10x14 baking pan and cooked 12-15 mins at 350 F. Very versatile recipe, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made these yesterday after making the no bake PB balls since they both have the same main ingredients. As of this morning, there are only 4 bars left. They taste better than any store bought granola bar you can buy. These are very filling and will definately satisfy any sweet craving. I followed the instructions and ingredients and only excluded what I didnt have. I did substitute flaxseed for the coconut because I didnt have coconut. It would definitely be easy to make these more nutricious by making a few changes. You could easily cut brown sugar to 1/4 cup instead of 1/2. You can also cut the butter in half and add 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. Lastly, you can eliminate the chocolate chips or substitute golden raisins, dates, currants, or another dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These reminded me of the no-bake cookies minus the cocoa. If you underbake them slightly they are soft, bake them a little too long and you have granola, either way the taste is very, very good! I only used oats, my younger kids don't care for nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Great! Very rich though. I also substituted corn syrup for an agave and honey mixture. I also used 1/2 cup flax, and omitted raisins. Definitely make sure to cool completely before cutting, as they'll just fall apart on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good! Everyone at the office loved these. I baked a little longer bc i like CRUNCHY sweets. I think this recipe is pretty much fool proof! Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMK1801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
After reading the recipe and all of the reviews I subbed the corn syrup for honey. The taste was good but I wasn't all that keen on the honey aftertaste. I felt it was missing the syrup. I also used a low fat butter substitute which worked well. Don't think you can buy corn syrup in the UK so the equivalent would be golden syrup which would make these bars "flap jacks" rather than granola bars. To be honest - if you are adding raisins and chocolate and lots of sweet extras you could cut out the sugar all together and not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
With a few changes these can be a very healthy breakfast/snack. First of all I used honey instead of corn syrup, after that there is no need to add ANY sugar. I also omitted the raisins (just because I'm not big fan of dried fruits) and the chocolate. The coconut gives an amazing flavor, next time I add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These were super delicious eventhough I made a few changes. I replaced the corn syrup with honey, didn't use the sesame seeds because I didn't have them and omitted the chocolate chips, but added extra raisins. I cut them into granola bar length, wrapped them individually for an easy on the go breakfast! I will definately make these again! Oh I also crunched up about 1/3 cup of peanuts because my husband loves them. It gave them a crunchier texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
ok susbstitutions.... agave nectar instead of brown sugar/corn syrup... it's lower glycemic index (but more expensive) and coconut oil and a bit more nut butter instead of regular butter. Coconut oil burns as energy instead of being stored as fat and can help pull fat from reserves to be used for energy, and i used sunflower butter instead of peanut b/c its much healthier but also more expensive, i also added about a 1/3 c of flax for coagulation (helps stuff stick w/o the butter) and for extra fiber and good fats. used walnuts, sesame seeds, raisins and choc chips as my mix ins....... they are AMAZING. i have been experiementing w/recipes for awhile and this is by far the best. After i put the mix in a pan i spread some more sun butter on top and then sprinkled go lean crunch (or granola) for some crunch, it was a great add on. and, we have been keeping them in the fridge which somehow makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good flavour, so easy and fast to make. I used maple sugar instead of corn syrup and added walnuts and choc.chips. You could add whatever you want to the recipe and it will turn out great. Will make again. Allow to cool completley before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States