Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
After reading the recipe and all of the reviews I subbed the corn syrup for honey. The taste was good but I wasn't all that keen on the honey aftertaste. I felt it was missing the syrup. I also used a low fat butter substitute which worked well. Don't think you can buy corn syrup in the UK so the equivalent would be golden syrup which would make these bars "flap jacks" rather than granola bars. To be honest - if you are adding raisins and chocolate and lots of sweet extras you could cut out the sugar all together and not miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
With a few changes these can be a very healthy breakfast/snack. First of all I used honey instead of corn syrup, after that there is no need to add ANY sugar. I also omitted the raisins (just because I'm not big fan of dried fruits) and the chocolate. The coconut gives an amazing flavor, next time I add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These were super delicious eventhough I made a few changes. I replaced the corn syrup with honey, didn't use the sesame seeds because I didn't have them and omitted the chocolate chips, but added extra raisins. I cut them into granola bar length, wrapped them individually for an easy on the go breakfast! I will definately make these again! Oh I also crunched up about 1/3 cup of peanuts because my husband loves them. It gave them a crunchier texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
ok susbstitutions.... agave nectar instead of brown sugar/corn syrup... it's lower glycemic index (but more expensive) and coconut oil and a bit more nut butter instead of regular butter. Coconut oil burns as energy instead of being stored as fat and can help pull fat from reserves to be used for energy, and i used sunflower butter instead of peanut b/c its much healthier but also more expensive, i also added about a 1/3 c of flax for coagulation (helps stuff stick w/o the butter) and for extra fiber and good fats. used walnuts, sesame seeds, raisins and choc chips as my mix ins....... they are AMAZING. i have been experiementing w/recipes for awhile and this is by far the best. After i put the mix in a pan i spread some more sun butter on top and then sprinkled go lean crunch (or granola) for some crunch, it was a great add on. and, we have been keeping them in the fridge which somehow makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good flavour, so easy and fast to make. I used maple sugar instead of corn syrup and added walnuts and choc.chips. You could add whatever you want to the recipe and it will turn out great. Will make again. Allow to cool completley before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I also used honey instead of corn syrup. They turned out great. Butterscotch chips too. No coconut. I'll try the flax and sesame seeds next time. This is such and easy, quick, somewhat healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Merryfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except I left out the raisins because I didn't have any. They turned out great! Chewy but not mushy. Very tasty! This is also a recipe you could easily change to your individule taste. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I substituted molaesses for corn syrup for a slightly more heathly bar. The molasses did not overpower the taste (as molasses can), but added sweetness. These bars are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Awesome! Followed the advice of others, substituted honey for corn syrup; no coconut, used what was on hand-almonds, rasians and crasians too; very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yumm. This is like a giant cookie. If you are looking for a healthy granola bar, I would suggest using honey instead of corn syrup, but I followed the recipe exactly. The oats, nuts, and raisins do add nutritional value. These bars are soft and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States