Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
These bars are very good. I did use honey instead of corn syrup. I did not add the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The best thing about this recipe is you can use whatever you have. I wasn't looking for substitutions, but I was also looking to save a trip to the store. Didn't have raisins, but I had dried cranberries. Didn't have sunflower seeds, but I had flax seeds. The base is perfect for any of your favorite snacks. A recipe box must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These are excellent. I wanted a different granola bar than my usual one. I came across this one and since I have a ton of PB it was perfect. I did change it up just a little bit. I used 1/2 honey and 1/2 corn syrup, left out sunflower seeds and the raisins, family doesn't like raisins, so I subbed walnuts and banana chips. These were definitely a hit with the family. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a half sheet pan. I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I've made these twice this week! They are gooey and delicious, and make a filling snack in between all our afternoon dance/swim/PE classes! I use 1/4 cup honey or agave instead of the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These bars are great. I read all the reviews and made the adjustments (left out the coconut, used honey instead of syrup). One of the best granola bar recipes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I haven't tried them because I don't eat raisins but DH said he was disappointed that it was all oatmeal taste and not peanut butter. It came together fine although I did add the oats 1/2 cup at a time so it would mix easier. I pressed it into the pan by hand. I needed to use up some sunflower seeds and I had all the ingredients so I made these and DH will take them to work tomorrow. I may make them again for the same reason but it isn't likely without some tweaks. ***Update - DH took these to work yesterday and came home with rave reviews from his coworkers and a request for more. I guess it is a matter of personal taste. Maybe the title is not the best since peanut butter doesn't seem to be the predominant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great healthy alternative to a chocolate chip cookie. Like other reviewers, I changed the corn syrup to honey and omitted the brown sugar altogether. To lower the fat, I mashed half of a small banana and used it to replace half of the butter. The banana could not even be tasted. (I used 2 tbsp. of butter and the remainder was the banana.) I probably could have used all banana and no butter and it would have been just as good. Add or substract raisins/choc. chips/ coconut, etc. as you prefer. I added flax meal too. Chewy, sweet, oaty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Put in two cups of mini marshmallows instead of the other ad-ins. Can you say fluffer-nutter? :) Edited to add: Used no add-in and put in 1 extra cup of oats. Used honey instead of corn syrup. I never cook these to 25 minutes because the edges get dark and the darkened edges don't taste as good. These are a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Love this bar, to make it healthier ,I used brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup and 1/4 more cup of organic brown sugar, perfect! I also baked them only 19 min. For a nice soft chewy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Yummy! Rated based on my own changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyerb
Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States