Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I haven't tried them because I don't eat raisins but DH said he was disappointed that it was all oatmeal taste and not peanut butter. It came together fine although I did add the oats 1/2 cup at a time so it would mix easier. I pressed it into the pan by hand. I needed to use up some sunflower seeds and I had all the ingredients so I made these and DH will take them to work tomorrow. I may make them again for the same reason but it isn't likely without some tweaks. ***Update - DH took these to work yesterday and came home with rave reviews from his coworkers and a request for more. I guess it is a matter of personal taste. Maybe the title is not the best since peanut butter doesn't seem to be the predominant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Great healthy alternative to a chocolate chip cookie. Like other reviewers, I changed the corn syrup to honey and omitted the brown sugar altogether. To lower the fat, I mashed half of a small banana and used it to replace half of the butter. The banana could not even be tasted. (I used 2 tbsp. of butter and the remainder was the banana.) I probably could have used all banana and no butter and it would have been just as good. Add or substract raisins/choc. chips/ coconut, etc. as you prefer. I added flax meal too. Chewy, sweet, oaty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Put in two cups of mini marshmallows instead of the other ad-ins. Can you say fluffer-nutter? :) Edited to add: Used no add-in and put in 1 extra cup of oats. Used honey instead of corn syrup. I never cook these to 25 minutes because the edges get dark and the darkened edges don't taste as good. These are a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Love this bar, to make it healthier ,I used brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup and 1/4 more cup of organic brown sugar, perfect! I also baked them only 19 min. For a nice soft chewy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Yummy! Rated based on my own changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyerb
Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
These are great!!! I took the advice of someone and melted the butter...great suggestion. Made it easier to mix. I also used about 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and used 1 cup of dried mixed berries (cranberry, cherries, blueberries). I baked them a little longer, for 30 minutes, so they weren't as soft and were more like a granola bar. FIVE STARS! Love them! I actually made them for my husband who is in the military and wanted something I could send.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Stef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Didn't have Sunflower seeds, and used old fashioned oats instead. Added almonds and as others stated used honey instead of cario syrup. They are in the oven at this moment. I can't wait to try them. Thanks for the added info everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Probably would be good no matter what you did! Due to allergies, and cupboard situation I came up with the following which is Sooo delicious: almost 3/4 c. soy butter for peanut butter, honey for corn syrup, strong brewed coffee for vanila, frosted mini-wheats and multi-grain cheerios (crushed) plus 1c. wheat germ for the rolled oats, no brown sugar, milk-free spreadable margarine for the butter, no raisins, more choc. chips, no sunflower seeds. baked for 15 min. Super way to get rid of 'forgotten' cereal in the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdfacc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigan City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I make these with Almond butter since my daughter is allergic to peanuts. I add flaxmeal for a little extra nutrients, but nomatter what I add, they always come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These flapjacks are amazing! I used golden syrup instead since corn syrup isn't sold in the UK. I also skipped the raisins, flaked coconut and sunflower seeds in favour of milk chocolate and white chocolate chips. It's a really simple recipe that makes moist, chewy flapjacks with all the peanut-butter flavour everyone loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States