Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! These are so yummy. Made as recipe as it said except I had to omit the sunflower seeds and coconut, only because I didn't have any on hand. Can hardly wait to make them again with them. These are fabulously delicious and addicting! Thank you for sharing this recipe, have been looking for a soft granola type bar forever. Take care in your baking time, as always. Mine were done in about 18 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was great. I used coconut oil instead of butter. I didn't have any coconut flakes or chocolate chips, so I used sliced almonds and chopped walnuts instead. Reading about substitutions helps me when I just don't have some of the listed ingredients, and don't want to WASTE money going to the store to buy things when I can just substitute. I am not an expert cook, and depend on recipes and the reviews to help me along in the kitchen. Allrecipes is a community where users help each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtoolive

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made these pretty much as written, minor changes and they turned out great. I used fresh ground peanut butter to cut some of the sugar and cut back on the butter to about 2 tablespoons. I found the consistency was a little too gooey, so this gave me the opportunity to add more stuff. What can be bad in that?! So I used these additions: unsweetened wheat puff cereal, Rice Krispie cereal, wheat germ, more oats, chia seeds and I also did not have sunflower seeds on hand so I substituted raw pepitas. I just added about 1 cup or so more of each dry cereal until the consistency was crumbly, not gooey. In past experience, everything is better roasted, and oats, nuts, the coconut flakes and the cereals all benefit from this. I just dumped everything out on 2 jelly roll pans prior to adding the wet ingredients and put them in a 300 degree oven, stirring every 7 minutes or so until I could smell the nuts getting 'nutty'. This greatly added to the flavor with minimum effort. Obviously these could be adapted to individual tastes, and what you have on hand. I didn't use raisins because I'm not a fan. And great for kids...my 18 month old is crazy about these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calpsychik
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
What a great homemade energy bar! So tasty for a snack! I buy energy bars like crazy because I'm very active and get low blood sugar easily, and these seem much healthier with no weird "fillers" or odd oils. Plus, hopefully more economical. I made the recipe basically the way it is, with substitutions for what I had on hand, plus added 1T ground flax to the dry ingredients and 3T apple juice to the wet ingredients to help it hold together (it's an egg equivalent and has lots of omega3). Here are my reasonable substitutions which don't deviate much from the original in taste or texture: I used honey for corn syrup, coconut sugar for brown sugar, instant steel cut oats for rolled oats, half organic earth balance buttery spread and half coconut oil for butter, and roughly chopped walnuts for sunflower seeds. (For variety in your bars, I think you could substitute just about any dried fruit and any nut/seed for sunflower seeds.) I gently heated the butter/oil in a sauce pan, then added honey, sugar, peanut butter, vanilla, and juice, stirring with each addition. I baked it in two round tart dishes so the corners wouldn't be too brown, as I noticed that problem in some of the pictures. It was on the sweet side for my taste, but that's probably my fault, as corn syrup is less sweet than honey. Maybe brown rice syrup might be a better sub. Corn syrup also doesn't burn as easily, but honey helps preserve food. I'll also probably use rolled oats next time instead of instant steel cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
It was good. I used crushed pecans and cashews as I did not have sunflower seeds and my husband does not like raisins. Very good. A bit crumbly to eat but still good. I will try it with Agave Nectar next time though so I can make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made these bars and they are great. I followed the recipe except I substituted honey for the corn syrup. Even my son that does not like coconut loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were OK. I couldn't taste the coconut. The peanut butter over powered them, and they were a hair on the sweet side. Granola is so easy to "tweak", so can use this as a starter, but I have an "old stand-by" I'll stick to. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! I made no substitutions and fell in love with these gooey, oh so yummy bars!!!! I wasn't expecting the gooey texture, but it was a warm welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very quick and easy to make and tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These were so good! I can't wait to make them for the kids again. Some people are always writing in that they are annoyed when people write their recipe changes in the reviews, but I personally, like it because it gives me ideas of how to make it better for my family. We omitted the raisins, swapped honey for the corn syrup, and added 1/4 cup flaxseeds. Some had said it was too sweet, so I reduced the brown sugar slightly - next time I will try 1/4 cup. Is corn syrup cheaper than honey? For cost savings, maybe I will eventually buy some corn syrup to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States