Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by calpsychik
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
What a great homemade energy bar! So tasty for a snack! I buy energy bars like crazy because I'm very active and get low blood sugar easily, and these seem much healthier with no weird "fillers" or odd oils. Plus, hopefully more economical. I made the recipe basically the way it is, with substitutions for what I had on hand, plus added 1T ground flax to the dry ingredients and 3T apple juice to the wet ingredients to help it hold together (it's an egg equivalent and has lots of omega3). Here are my reasonable substitutions which don't deviate much from the original in taste or texture: I used honey for corn syrup, coconut sugar for brown sugar, instant steel cut oats for rolled oats, half organic earth balance buttery spread and half coconut oil for butter, and roughly chopped walnuts for sunflower seeds. (For variety in your bars, I think you could substitute just about any dried fruit and any nut/seed for sunflower seeds.) I gently heated the butter/oil in a sauce pan, then added honey, sugar, peanut butter, vanilla, and juice, stirring with each addition. I baked it in two round tart dishes so the corners wouldn't be too brown, as I noticed that problem in some of the pictures. It was on the sweet side for my taste, but that's probably my fault, as corn syrup is less sweet than honey. Maybe brown rice syrup might be a better sub. Corn syrup also doesn't burn as easily, but honey helps preserve food. I'll also probably use rolled oats next time instead of instant steel cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
It was good. I used crushed pecans and cashews as I did not have sunflower seeds and my husband does not like raisins. Very good. A bit crumbly to eat but still good. I will try it with Agave Nectar next time though so I can make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made these bars and they are great. I followed the recipe except I substituted honey for the corn syrup. Even my son that does not like coconut loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were OK. I couldn't taste the coconut. The peanut butter over powered them, and they were a hair on the sweet side. Granola is so easy to "tweak", so can use this as a starter, but I have an "old stand-by" I'll stick to. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! I made no substitutions and fell in love with these gooey, oh so yummy bars!!!! I wasn't expecting the gooey texture, but it was a warm welcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very quick and easy to make and tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These were so good! I can't wait to make them for the kids again. Some people are always writing in that they are annoyed when people write their recipe changes in the reviews, but I personally, like it because it gives me ideas of how to make it better for my family. We omitted the raisins, swapped honey for the corn syrup, and added 1/4 cup flaxseeds. Some had said it was too sweet, so I reduced the brown sugar slightly - next time I will try 1/4 cup. Is corn syrup cheaper than honey? For cost savings, maybe I will eventually buy some corn syrup to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious! I did use honey in lieu of corn starch. I also didn't have any sunflower seeds, so I used flax seed instead. Very tasty and gooey-can be messy so eat with a napkin so you don't drop crumbs everywhere! I thought they would need more chocolate, but it's perfect! Hubby doesn't like coconut, but ate these up and didn't even know there was any in there until I told him. Next time I'll add some almonds too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
These are great! I made them with all the ingredients listed but then added some sliced almonds that I had leftover in the cupboard. Amazing flavor and texture. I love the versatility that this recipe will allow in that you can substitute cranberries for raisins, nuts for sunflower seeds, etc. My husband is a runner and is always looking for wholesome snacks. These bars fit the bill! I make many baked treats from this site and very few have disappointed. Thanks again for another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Update!! I need to change my rating to 5 star Because I always seem to come back to this recipe lol these are my go to recipe!No complaints! Very good! not crumbly like some granola bar recipes Iv tried! I always stick them in the freezer after baking for about 30min makes cutting them so much easier.Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States