Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Really yummy. I made a few substitutions dried cranberries for the raisins and chopped pecans for the sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These are so good, though a bit dry. I added two eggs the next time and they were a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. After reading reviews about too little filling, I was sure to use the blender, as recommended in the original recipe. The original also calls for just an 8x8 square pan. The original recipe has plenty of filling if you follow the exact directions. However, something went dreadfully wrong. My lemon bars tasted like salty scrambled eggs. Yuck. The crust was good...like a tea cookie. But the filling was just all wrong. I'll have to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Yummy. . I didn't add the sunflower seeds or raisins. . I wanted a sweet treat .. So I put 3/4 cup chocolate chips and 3/4 cup trail mix.The one with mm's cashews nuts and raisins..It would be good both ways one a lot healthier for sure . =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I substituted honey for the corn syrup, I used organic natural pb, pumpkin seeds instead of sunflower seeds, and I topped it with crushed pecans and graham cracker crumbs. They came out Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious. I left out the sugar the second time I made them and liked em even better. Also used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!! These are so yummy. Made as recipe as it said except I had to omit the sunflower seeds and coconut, only because I didn't have any on hand. Can hardly wait to make them again with them. These are fabulously delicious and addicting! Thank you for sharing this recipe, have been looking for a soft granola type bar forever. Take care in your baking time, as always. Mine were done in about 18 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was great. I used coconut oil instead of butter. I didn't have any coconut flakes or chocolate chips, so I used sliced almonds and chopped walnuts instead. Reading about substitutions helps me when I just don't have some of the listed ingredients, and don't want to WASTE money going to the store to buy things when I can just substitute. I am not an expert cook, and depend on recipes and the reviews to help me along in the kitchen. Allrecipes is a community where users help each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtoolive

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made these pretty much as written, minor changes and they turned out great. I used fresh ground peanut butter to cut some of the sugar and cut back on the butter to about 2 tablespoons. I found the consistency was a little too gooey, so this gave me the opportunity to add more stuff. What can be bad in that?! So I used these additions: unsweetened wheat puff cereal, Rice Krispie cereal, wheat germ, more oats, chia seeds and I also did not have sunflower seeds on hand so I substituted raw pepitas. I just added about 1 cup or so more of each dry cereal until the consistency was crumbly, not gooey. In past experience, everything is better roasted, and oats, nuts, the coconut flakes and the cereals all benefit from this. I just dumped everything out on 2 jelly roll pans prior to adding the wet ingredients and put them in a 300 degree oven, stirring every 7 minutes or so until I could smell the nuts getting 'nutty'. This greatly added to the flavor with minimum effort. Obviously these could be adapted to individual tastes, and what you have on hand. I didn't use raisins because I'm not a fan. And great for kids...my 18 month old is crazy about these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calpsychik
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
What a great homemade energy bar! So tasty for a snack! I buy energy bars like crazy because I'm very active and get low blood sugar easily, and these seem much healthier with no weird "fillers" or odd oils. Plus, hopefully more economical. I made the recipe basically the way it is, with substitutions for what I had on hand, plus added 1T ground flax to the dry ingredients and 3T apple juice to the wet ingredients to help it hold together (it's an egg equivalent and has lots of omega3). Here are my reasonable substitutions which don't deviate much from the original in taste or texture: I used honey for corn syrup, coconut sugar for brown sugar, instant steel cut oats for rolled oats, half organic earth balance buttery spread and half coconut oil for butter, and roughly chopped walnuts for sunflower seeds. (For variety in your bars, I think you could substitute just about any dried fruit and any nut/seed for sunflower seeds.) I gently heated the butter/oil in a sauce pan, then added honey, sugar, peanut butter, vanilla, and juice, stirring with each addition. I baked it in two round tart dishes so the corners wouldn't be too brown, as I noticed that problem in some of the pictures. It was on the sweet side for my taste, but that's probably my fault, as corn syrup is less sweet than honey. Maybe brown rice syrup might be a better sub. Corn syrup also doesn't burn as easily, but honey helps preserve food. I'll also probably use rolled oats next time instead of instant steel cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States