Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Great recipe, I added sesame seeds, flaxmeal instead of the sunflower seed and rasins. Great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made these using honey instead of corn syrup and M&M's in place of chocolate chips. I also added chopped walnuts. This is a wonderful recipe and I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
What a great recipe! I put a bunch of almonds and walnuts in my bars for extra protein. These are very versatile bars, you can add just about anything from M & M's to white chocolate chips to dried fruit varieties to candybar pieces. These bars have now replaced my usual morning breakfast protien bar. I use honey in place of the corn syrup, they come out wonderful. For those of you who think this bar is dry, I have found the solution. Use 1/2 cup butter/margarine instead of 1/3 cup and melt it before you add it. And bake the bars for 15 minutes instead of 20. These bars don't have any eggs in them so it's okay to underbake them quite a bit, as they will harden up after a few days of sitting on the counter (if they last that long!) Thanks for the recipe, it's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Good snack! I will use pecan next time instead of the sunflower seeds. I left out the coconut (only because I discovered I didn't have any) and it was definately sweet enough without it. I'll cut back a little on the oats next time and add a little almond extract instead of vanilla. Worth making! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I ended up with a pan of very tasty granola. Will probably work as an ice cream topping. Very dry. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
My husband is a coach and I like to send healthy goodies for his athletes to have at their meets. I have made MANY failed attempts (yes, they were healthy, but were no more then dried out logs of nutrition). This recipe is a keeper! To cut back on the fat, I'd omit the coconut (sorry... my fave, too). I used a low-fat margarine, amlonds instead of sunflower seeds, Hershey's cinnamon chips instead of chocolate and used only 1 1/3 C oatmeal with 2C high protein cereal from Trader Joes. These were so yummy (even BEFORE baking!) that his athletes were lucky to get any. Not bad for a quick hunger fix while awaiting an event or for my kids who can be pretty picky! Thanks, Karen. These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Not a huge hit, but not terrible. Just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Sorry to say I wasn't as thrilled with these as others seem to have been. I did leave out the coconut and sunflower seeds and substituted Sun Maid Dried Fruit Bits for the raisins. They were easy to make, but I felt they were a little greasy - I don't really think with all the peanut butter and corn syrup there was much reason to grease the pan. Basically, they are ok if you are looking for a snack you can make healthier than cookies, but nothing I would make again. My peanut butter loving husband and oatmeal loving toddler aren't interested, so I've got a lot of bars to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
There are delicious! I used honey instead of corn syrup, almonds instead of sesame seeds, and 1 cup of raisins in place of the chocolate chips. I love these and will never buy granola bars again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
These are awesome!! I also use flax seeds, seseme seeds, walnuts, raisins, wheatgerm, coconut and whatever I find in my cupboards to equal the two cups as called for which makes them extra healthy for my family. They won't fall apart if you let them set until they are completely cooled, then they slice nicely, they are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States