Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This has a great basis for granola type bars, but has too many "extra" ingredients. I made a batch and felt that it just had too many tastes, but nothing distinctive. Next time I make it I would just use coconut and almonds or chocolate chips and walnuts or rasins and pecans... having too many of these all together was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
My bars fell apart! I pulled them apart, broiled them for 3 minutes and they made outstanding granola though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed these bars. I used 1/2 cup butter, honey instead of corn syrup, and 4 teaspoons of vanilla. I also added some soy protein powder to the mix. The chocolate chips, coconut, sunflower seeds, and raisins were omitted. I added Craisins to my bars. I baked the bars for 15 minutes and they were crumbly at first but the bars hardened by the next day. I will make these again and I was so surprised how good they came out. The next time I bake these bars I will use 3 cups of rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
these are delicious COOKIE-BARS. even after adding flax and chopped almonds, i cannot say these resemble granola bars. that said, they were easy to make and i seem to be making quite a dent in the pan... four stars it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina G
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I expected these bars to be dry and crunchy and I was going to put them in school lunches. Instead they are gooey and delicious and I know they won't last until tomorrow! They seem more like dessert than a granola bar to me. I'm going to make another batch to freeze since they came together so quickly. I left out the coconut and used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Great recipe, I added sesame seeds, flaxmeal instead of the sunflower seed and rasins. Great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made these using honey instead of corn syrup and M&M's in place of chocolate chips. I also added chopped walnuts. This is a wonderful recipe and I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
What a great recipe! I put a bunch of almonds and walnuts in my bars for extra protein. These are very versatile bars, you can add just about anything from M & M's to white chocolate chips to dried fruit varieties to candybar pieces. These bars have now replaced my usual morning breakfast protien bar. I use honey in place of the corn syrup, they come out wonderful. For those of you who think this bar is dry, I have found the solution. Use 1/2 cup butter/margarine instead of 1/3 cup and melt it before you add it. And bake the bars for 15 minutes instead of 20. These bars don't have any eggs in them so it's okay to underbake them quite a bit, as they will harden up after a few days of sitting on the counter (if they last that long!) Thanks for the recipe, it's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Good snack! I will use pecan next time instead of the sunflower seeds. I left out the coconut (only because I discovered I didn't have any) and it was definately sweet enough without it. I'll cut back a little on the oats next time and add a little almond extract instead of vanilla. Worth making! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I ended up with a pan of very tasty granola. Will probably work as an ice cream topping. Very dry. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States