Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very yummy!! I used honey like others instead of corn syrup. I left out the sunflower seeds and added a touch more coconut & raisins. I also used crunchy peanut butter. I baked mine for 18 minutes and they are nice and moist. This is my new snack recipe as I seem to always have these ingredients on hand!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
i don't know what i did wrong but mine was so dry it was not 'bars' it was more like granola. however i will try it again b/c it tasted amazing! i used cranberries & mini chips instead of the coconut, etc (just what i had at home). Can't wait to try again sometime, hopefully they will turn into bars next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very good. I did substitute honey for the corn syrup like some other reviewers suggested. I also am not crazy about raisins so I used cherry flavored dried cranberries instead and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Very yummy, although I too substituted honey for corn syrup and skipped the sunflower seeds and coconut in favor of raisins and walnuts so they would give us some energy on our hiking trips. I agree that they are hard to cut so that they don't fall apart. I score them once they've cooled for a little while, but don't try to cut them for at least 5 or 6 hours. I'm sure someone more skilled and patient could get it to work for them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This has a great basis for granola type bars, but has too many "extra" ingredients. I made a batch and felt that it just had too many tastes, but nothing distinctive. Next time I make it I would just use coconut and almonds or chocolate chips and walnuts or rasins and pecans... having too many of these all together was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Sasser Nilssen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
My bars fell apart! I pulled them apart, broiled them for 3 minutes and they made outstanding granola though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed these bars. I used 1/2 cup butter, honey instead of corn syrup, and 4 teaspoons of vanilla. I also added some soy protein powder to the mix. The chocolate chips, coconut, sunflower seeds, and raisins were omitted. I added Craisins to my bars. I baked the bars for 15 minutes and they were crumbly at first but the bars hardened by the next day. I will make these again and I was so surprised how good they came out. The next time I bake these bars I will use 3 cups of rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
these are delicious COOKIE-BARS. even after adding flax and chopped almonds, i cannot say these resemble granola bars. that said, they were easy to make and i seem to be making quite a dent in the pan... four stars it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina G
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I expected these bars to be dry and crunchy and I was going to put them in school lunches. Instead they are gooey and delicious and I know they won't last until tomorrow! They seem more like dessert than a granola bar to me. I'm going to make another batch to freeze since they came together so quickly. I left out the coconut and used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Great recipe, I added sesame seeds, flaxmeal instead of the sunflower seed and rasins. Great afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States