Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have made some oatmeal breakfast cookies very similar to this recipe, but was glad to see that they can also be baked as bars. I wanted something a little more toddler friendly, so I made some substitutions for ingredients that are in my breakfast cookies. I used honey instead of corn syrup and omitted the brown sugar. My cookie recipe uses bananas, but I did not have any to add today. So I used applesauce instead of butter. I also added half a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of cinnamon. I left out the coconut and crushed some sliced almonds instead of sunflower seeds. They are not really like granola bars at all, but they were absolutely delicious! I like it better with the applesauce than with the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
These are awesome! Substitutions to your preference are no problem. Delicious! Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I have made this three times already. You can really use any additions that you would like. We even used crushed up peanut butter sandwich cookies once and that was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Really yummy and super easy! Love the chewiness of them. I have made it a couple times and each time I've changed the "add-ins" to the basic base because I didn't have the original recipe ingredients on hand. Dried sour cherries and almonds one time, dates and walnuts the other time. Very versatile to give different flavors. Love it! Thank You for sharing :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeremy
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Added a ton of dried fruit and chocolate chips.... Eyeballing everything generously
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
left out chocolate used half honey and half corn syrup wet mixture separated not sure why did not seem to cause a problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I love this! I omitted coconut and raisins just because I don't like them. Everything else was the same. Getting ready to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
BAKE 10 MIN LESS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was delicious and so easy! I had oatmeal sitting in the cupboard that I needed to get rid of and I'm so glad I found this recipe! I was going for more of a dessert-type bar so I used 2 cups milk chocochips. I also used chunky peanut butter. Next time, I'll try using honey instead of the corn syrup like other reviewers have suggested, just to switch it up. They did cool to be a bit crumbly, but I stuck them in the fridge and now they're chewy and perfect. My whole house smelled like peanut butter while they were in the oven! Mmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
So tasty! Didn't work as well the second time around with natural peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States