Oatmeal Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
After using another oatmeal pancake recipe for years, our family of ten has voted this one "AWESOME". The only change we made was to double the buttermilk (the cheap kind; 2% milk and lemon juice), a little more if the batter sits very long. If we plan ahead, we let the oats soak in the buttermilk overnight in the fridge which makes the oats a little softer. Either way, this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were good, but as reported by others, the batter is VERY thick! I made my first few pancakes with the "original" batter but then added milk until I liked the consistancy better to all my other pancakes. Both tasted great, but I did like the pancakes with a little more milk in the batter better. Plus they were easier to spread out. Very yummy though, so just keep adding a little more milk until the batter is creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These were delicious. I added vanilla, cinnamon, blueberries, flax seed, and a bit of sparkling water and have never had a tastier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I doubled this recipe to make extra for next week. My kids asked me to add chocolate chips this morning, that was the only change I made. This recipe is almost where it needs to be--it's just too thick as is. I added a little more milk but the little overmixing I had to do made the pancakes flat and tough. I should have read through the reviews before I made this recipe. I'd like to try these pancakes again, with adjusted milk or oats and see if I can get a better result the next time. I'd also grind down the oats to a finer texture in my food processor as well. NOTE: If you want to add chocolate chips like me, just mix the batter up and after you ladle your batter onto the griddle, sprinkle your chips over each little batter circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
From the dining room, they yell to the kitchen "these are REALLY good!" Using the advice of other reviewers, I up the milk 1/4c. They were perfect. I knew we would be out of syrup, so to the batter for the last two I added one more teaspoon of sugar, some vanilla and cinnamon. I sprinkled raisins over the batter as soon as it was poured into the pan. They were like eating soft, warm oatmeal cookies for breakfast! Thanks for sharing this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Recipe was excellent! We just had to change a few of the ingredients to suit us. We used soy instead of buttermilk. 4 T. of olive oil instead of butter & brown organic sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
The original recipe definitely needed improvement. I decreased the amount of oats and increased the amount of liquid. It took a while to acquire the correct proportions. But, after that they were pretty good. As written, this recipe is not worth trying, but it does have potential, if taken some vital alterations in account.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
These were amazing. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. They were thick so I added some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Very tasty but needs a bit more liquid to make consistency right. I added 1/3 C 2% Milk and they turned out great. Chocolate chips and pecans sprinkled in made them fabulous. They are like having dessert for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I make this basic recipe using steel cut oats. I first soak 1 cup oats overnight in 1 cup or more buttermilk in a blender. (I prepare the whole thing in the blender). In the morning, I add 1 egg. 1/2 to 1 cup regular milk, 1/2 to 1 cup whole wheat flour. The sugar (only about a tablespoon) the baking powder, soda, also 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp. vanilla extract along with the butter (about 2-3 tablespoons). The batter is thick, but thin to desired consistency with milk. Yum. The oats and buttermilk make them so sweet, they hardly need syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States