Oatmeal Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
After using another oatmeal pancake recipe for years, our family of ten has voted this one "AWESOME". The only change we made was to double the buttermilk (the cheap kind; 2% milk and lemon juice), a little more if the batter sits very long. If we plan ahead, we let the oats soak in the buttermilk overnight in the fridge which makes the oats a little softer. Either way, this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were good, but as reported by others, the batter is VERY thick! I made my first few pancakes with the "original" batter but then added milk until I liked the consistancy better to all my other pancakes. Both tasted great, but I did like the pancakes with a little more milk in the batter better. Plus they were easier to spread out. Very yummy though, so just keep adding a little more milk until the batter is creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Wow, wonderful pancakes. I was concerned they would be heavy, but they were very light and tasted awesome. I doubled the recipe since my family loves leftover pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made the recipe as written. Make SURE you like oatmeal before making these. They taste just like a bowl of oatmeal. Don't expect this batter to look or behave like regular pancake batter. It doesn't. It is very thick. I poured mine out in 1/4 cup measure. The batter doesn't bubble letting you know it is time to flip them; so it is hard to make sure they are actually done in the middle. Mine did not hold together on the plate. Once they were cut, they just wanted to fall apart. I couldn't really stab them with the fork & pick them up. All in all, this recipe is a loser; a waste of time & buttermilk. I would never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
These were very soft and light... not heavy like some oatmeal pancakes. My kids devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These were delicious. I added vanilla, cinnamon, blueberries, flax seed, and a bit of sparkling water and have never had a tastier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I wanted a healthy form of pecan pancakes so I took this recipe and added pecans, cinnamon and vanilla extract (also used splenda instead of sugar and whole wheat flour instead of regular). They were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
These were amazing. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. They were thick so I added some milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I enjoyed these pancakes- but I added less oatmeal, twice the buttermilk, and cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I thought these pancakes were delicious! And so much better for you than regular pancakes. The flavor was fantastic. I adjusted the recipe for two servings and it worked out really well. You can play with the proportions of the ingredients a bit to get the batter texture you like (i.e less oatmeal more buttermilk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States