Oatmeal Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were very good, my son loved them (needed to increase the amt of fiber he's getting) tho i did double the milk and i ran the oats through the blender to puree them in the milk. i think next time ill grind the oats first but b/w pureeing it and mixing in the extra milk they turned into yummy filling pancakes with honey on top for me and maple syrup for him ;) i rated it four stars b/c of the amt of time it took to make them but they did turn out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
FANTASTIC! This week my boyfriend is doing allergy testing which limits our diet for the week. Oats, rice, eggs and meat are all that is acceptable. A few veggies. I changed all the milk and butter to water, and ground some oatmeal into flour and used that. Next time I'll put a LITTLE more water in. Made syrup with brown sugar, cinnamon and water. FANTASTIC! We'll eat it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
As to the problem with a thicker then normal batter for pancakes it is always the easy way out to add water as to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Recipe was excellent! We just had to change a few of the ingredients to suit us. We used soy instead of buttermilk. 4 T. of olive oil instead of butter & brown organic sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I wanted to try this recie because of the high proportion of heart-health oatmeal to flour - What a mistake. The proportions of wet ingredients to dry ingedients are wrong. The batter is too thick and other reviewers had made the same claim. I needed to add more buttermilk (which I substituted 1 tbsp. lemon juice and the rest of the cup milk) to make it a thinner batter - then the batter was too thin so I had to add more flour. I will not make this recipe again. I will try the other oatmeal pancake recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
These are good, but the name "pancakes" is a bit of a misnomer. They're more like skillet scones. Better eaten with a heap of applesauce than maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
From the dining room, they yell to the kitchen "these are REALLY good!" Using the advice of other reviewers, I up the milk 1/4c. They were perfect. I knew we would be out of syrup, so to the batter for the last two I added one more teaspoon of sugar, some vanilla and cinnamon. I sprinkled raisins over the batter as soon as it was poured into the pan. They were like eating soft, warm oatmeal cookies for breakfast! Thanks for sharing this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
If you are truly looking for "light and fluffy", this is not the pancake for you. They are tasty but dense, even with conservative mixing. I like to add diced up ripe banana (and a handful of walnuts sometimes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These are an excellent, hearty pancake. Needs a bit more liquid and extra cinnamon. I make them when guests are in and get rave reviews. Awesome with some strawberries or other fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I thought these were fairly bland, especially for all the buttermilk and butter in them. I added raisins and crushed walnuts, but they didn't help much. The batter was way too dense. Next time I'll use normal milk, and more of it. Perhaps less butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States