Oatmeal Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I make this basic recipe using steel cut oats. I first soak 1 cup oats overnight in 1 cup or more buttermilk in a blender. (I prepare the whole thing in the blender). In the morning, I add 1 egg. 1/2 to 1 cup regular milk, 1/2 to 1 cup whole wheat flour. The sugar (only about a tablespoon) the baking powder, soda, also 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp. vanilla extract along with the butter (about 2-3 tablespoons). The batter is thick, but thin to desired consistency with milk. Yum. The oats and buttermilk make them so sweet, they hardly need syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Loved them! I added 1/4 cup of milk to thin the batter a bit. Don't cut back the oatmeal, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent, just may need more buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
My 7 and 5 year old boys liked them but everyone else felt they were heavy and plain tasting. If I make them again I will probably add cinnamon and raisins or blueberries. It would also be better with some vanilla I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I did make a few changes. I add cinnamon, vanilla, wheat germ, extra milk and added half flax seed oil and half butter. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
ok so as pancakes these are pretty gross but if you make waffles with the batter(and add brown sugar) they turn out pretty awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great base recipe! Not a thing wrong with the batter as long as you follow the directions and use the correct oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
These were great. My family loved them and I have made them several times already. They are very light and fluffy. I took the recommendations and only added 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal and I added fresh blueberries. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were great. I was afraid the batter was too thick, but it worked as is. I used whole wheat flour, smart balance margarine, and splenda to make it fit my diet. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I was looking for something different to make my daughter for breakfast, and thought this was a nice healthy base to start from. I may not have let my oats soak long enough as the finished product was more than a little chewy, but they still puffed nicely and with the addition of some mashed banana and cinnamon, were quite tasty. I did have to add a splash more milk to make the batter pourable, used just a bit of raw sugar vs. white, and substituted olive oil and a pinch of salt for the butter, with no ill effects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEANUTPUTTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States