Oatmeal Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I make this basic recipe using steel cut oats. I first soak 1 cup oats overnight in 1 cup or more buttermilk in a blender. (I prepare the whole thing in the blender). In the morning, I add 1 egg. 1/2 to 1 cup regular milk, 1/2 to 1 cup whole wheat flour. The sugar (only about a tablespoon) the baking powder, soda, also 1/2 tsp salt and 1 tsp. vanilla extract along with the butter (about 2-3 tablespoons). The batter is thick, but thin to desired consistency with milk. Yum. The oats and buttermilk make them so sweet, they hardly need syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Loved them! I added 1/4 cup of milk to thin the batter a bit. Don't cut back the oatmeal, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks 4 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent, just may need more buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
My 7 and 5 year old boys liked them but everyone else felt they were heavy and plain tasting. If I make them again I will probably add cinnamon and raisins or blueberries. It would also be better with some vanilla I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This recipe was awesome! I did make a few changes. I add cinnamon, vanilla, wheat germ, extra milk and added half flax seed oil and half butter. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
ok so as pancakes these are pretty gross but if you make waffles with the batter(and add brown sugar) they turn out pretty awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great base recipe! Not a thing wrong with the batter as long as you follow the directions and use the correct oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
These were great. My family loved them and I have made them several times already. They are very light and fluffy. I took the recommendations and only added 1 1/2 cups of oatmeal and I added fresh blueberries. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were great. I was afraid the batter was too thick, but it worked as is. I used whole wheat flour, smart balance margarine, and splenda to make it fit my diet. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I was looking for something different to make my daughter for breakfast, and thought this was a nice healthy base to start from. I may not have let my oats soak long enough as the finished product was more than a little chewy, but they still puffed nicely and with the addition of some mashed banana and cinnamon, were quite tasty. I did have to add a splash more milk to make the batter pourable, used just a bit of raw sugar vs. white, and substituted olive oil and a pinch of salt for the butter, with no ill effects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEANUTPUTTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States