Oatmeal Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I really enjoy this recipe. I do a couple things differently to suit my own tastes since I dislike syrup. I also change the prep method as well to make it a little easier for me. To start with I mix my ingredients in a small food processor which I use a great deal on South Beach. I keep the ingredients list the same but with the addition of a little splenda. I dislike syrup so this gives me that bit of sweetness. I fix these in my waffle maker instead of on the stove. I spray it with a little cooking spray and divide this out into two portions then close it up and wait until done which with my waffle iron is when the light goes off. I eat them either plain or I top them with pureed strawberries. I take three to four frozen strawberries that I thaw in the microwave a bit and then whirl them through that mini food processor. I then put this on top of my "waffles". It's very filling and a change of pace. These can also be done in advance, cooled, flash frozen, then vacumm sealed, and put in the freezer for later use. To reheat either zap in the microwave or pop in the toaster or toaster oven. I've made these with egg substitute with the same great results and I've also left out the spices and liked it that way too. It's a great starter recipe. You can even add just a little chopped nuts, peanut butter, fruit, or other spices like pumpkin pie spice for variety just don't get it too terribly wet with added ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
While I appreciated the healthiness of these pancakes, I wasn't too thrilled about the spongy texture. I think it calls for too much egg. As I was quadrupling the recipe recently (for easy breakfast later on in the week), I made a happy accident (left out some egg) that yielded much more pancake-like texture. 2 C oats (processed until fine powder), 2 C cottage cheese, 2 C egg whites, 1 egg, 3 Tbsp ground flax, 1 tsp baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, stevia, splash of almond milk to thin it out. I let the batter sit for 5 minutes before cooking. What a difference this made in the texture! These puffed up and was more bread-like whereas the previous ones were flat, spongy, and somewhat soggy. If you're just making a single serving, I'd recommend decreasing the egg whites to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
WOW! A real pancake with more protein than net carbs, almost no fat, and low glycemic index thanks to the oatmeal -- and it still tastes good! Unbelievable. I make this very easy recipe several times a week. To make this pancake light and fluffy/eggy instead of somewhat dense and grainy: I use 1/3 cup cottage cheese, 1/2 cup egg substitute, and 3 packets of artifical sweetener. This time I served the pancake with a thin layer of butter and a bit of maple syrup. Also delicious with reduced-sugar strawberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I make a quadruple batch of these every week for my three year old! I just take a few out of the fridge every day. One variation that we love is to replace the cottage cheese with yogurt and add half a microwaved sweet potato and another egg. Just poke holes in the sweet potato and microwave until it's soft. You can peel it with your fingers once it's cooler and add it to the foodprocessor after you've processed the oatmeal on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
This is one of my favorite things to eat! I do, however, make a few modifications- I use 1/2 cup of fat-free cottage cheese and 5-6 egg whites to make them more "crepe" like. I also add lots of splenda and lots of cinnamon to taste. You definitely need to use a blender for this recipe- mixing by hand will not suffice. They're so easy and fast to make, and they're DELICIOUS! I made them for my mom and she was shocked at how good they are. They're not completely like a pancake, but good in their own way. Love them love them love them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I had a lot of trouble getting these pancakes to not stick in the pan. If anyone else is having trouble as well, I've adapted the recipe so you don't need to use a pan. Trust me, this works like a charm! Process the oatmeal to a smooth, flour-like consistency before combining with the rest of the ingredients. In two small casserole dishes (about 4 or 5” in diameter), divide the pancake mixture. Cover with paper towel or plastic paper; microwave for 90 seconds. Pancakes will puff up. Check by lifting slightly to make sure the bottoms are set. If pancakes are still runny underneath, microwave another 15 to 20 seconds. Pancakes should easily invert onto plates. I also like to toast them in the toaster oven on a small cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray. (I like everything crunchy!) Sidenote to TEVANS211, whey protein powder is NOT to be cooked. The protein isolates in whey protein powder are destroyed when cooked, and have no nutritional value. Alternatively, you should try adding defatted soy flour to recipes. It's loaded with protein and also superhigh in fibre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I give this recipe 5 stars for health plus taste. No need to change anything, the texture and taste is just right for such a healthy dish, and the nutritional value is fantastic! I recommend serving w/ the "Blueberry Sauce" recipe submitted by Isybel (substituting the sugar w/ splenda/honey). I also threw in some whey protein powder (about 1/3 c.) for all you other fitness fanatics out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I like this healthy oatmeal pancake recipe, by adding one banana and some sugar, it gives additional flavor and softness. It's even better. Try out, you'll like it. ;P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This is a great recipe. I eat these pancakes on Saturday or Sunday mornings so I can feel like I'm cheating without really doing it. I did find the original recipe a bit bland, so I added some salt and splenda and more cinnamon. Also,another great addition is sugar free spiced cider. Just toss in a packet of sugar free instant cider for a kick of apple for only 10 calories more. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
These were good. I was totally surprised...I didn't think I would like them after I made the batter. I thought for next time, I'm going to try a packet of the flavored oatmeal. Should be just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States