Oatmeal Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wasn't real sure about this one when I read the recipe but, after I made it I will never eat regular pancakes again! These are so much better for you and I love the nutty texture. I will make these instead of the empty carb pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Not bad at all. I generally make double the recipe and use 3 whole eggs and add maybe 2 teaspoons of brown sugar (I'm not on the diet, I just wanted an easier way to eat oatmeal). Also, this pancake can translate well to a savory pancake. Like others have mentioned, this pancake can be pretty bland. You can dress it up in other ways than the cinnamon/sugar, fruit suggested. Add some green onions, salt, and five spice, and it's a nuttier version of green onion pancakes. The oatmeal makes a good base from which to launch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoosePhysh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
While I appreciated the healthiness of these pancakes, I wasn't too thrilled about the spongy texture. I think it calls for too much egg. As I was quadrupling the recipe recently (for easy breakfast later on in the week), I made a happy accident (left out some egg) that yielded much more pancake-like texture. 2 C oats (processed until fine powder), 2 C cottage cheese, 2 C egg whites, 1 egg, 3 Tbsp ground flax, 1 tsp baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, stevia, splash of almond milk to thin it out. I let the batter sit for 5 minutes before cooking. What a difference this made in the texture! These puffed up and was more bread-like whereas the previous ones were flat, spongy, and somewhat soggy. If you're just making a single serving, I'd recommend decreasing the egg whites to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
great with stawberry jam. also added sliced bananas when in the pan to make banana pancakes, a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I am not doing the southbeach diet but I still make these pancakes on Sunday morning because they are healthy, really fill you up (not with sugar though) and taste great! I highly recommend them with some razberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These actually turned out fluffy! I couldn't believe it. But, definitely add some Splenda to the mix. I used Pumpkin Pie spice to jazz up the flavor. Also, I discovered that I'm having some sensitivity to eggs, so I used a single serving container of apple sauce instead of the eggs. It seemed a little dry, but still turned out okay. And, boy, do they keep you full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1CONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Wow! I loved this pancake--and I used to hate pancakes! I am not on the South Beach Diet, but have committed myself to eating mostly whole foods and restricting processed or refined foods. This recipe hit the mark. I made my pancake with 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg, I forgot to add the vanilla, and I added a squirt of honey. To top the pancake, I sliced a Fuji apple into thin slices, sprinkled them with cinnamon and a little honey and microwaved until soft. Just a warning, this pancake is BIG and it will fill you up. I couldn't even finish mine! One complaint I have with the recipe is that it is advertised as "low-carb". It's not really low in carbohydrates (there are no standards for calling a food low-carb). Oatmeal is a carbohydrate, but it is a whole grain and is very good for you; especially for heart health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A6N2N0A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is an awesome pancake for those of us who are dieting and want lower carb, higher protien foods. It is a bit grainy, but has decent texture, and matches well with fresh fruit and no sugar added syrup. What an innovative way to make a pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very easy, very good. Top w/your favorite fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Okay, not the best pancake recipe I've ever had, but dang good if you have a craving for pancakes and you want to stay on your diet. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States