Oatmeal Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wasn't real sure about this one when I read the recipe but, after I made it I will never eat regular pancakes again! These are so much better for you and I love the nutty texture. I will make these instead of the empty carb pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Not bad at all. I generally make double the recipe and use 3 whole eggs and add maybe 2 teaspoons of brown sugar (I'm not on the diet, I just wanted an easier way to eat oatmeal). Also, this pancake can translate well to a savory pancake. Like others have mentioned, this pancake can be pretty bland. You can dress it up in other ways than the cinnamon/sugar, fruit suggested. Add some green onions, salt, and five spice, and it's a nuttier version of green onion pancakes. The oatmeal makes a good base from which to launch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoosePhysh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
While I appreciated the healthiness of these pancakes, I wasn't too thrilled about the spongy texture. I think it calls for too much egg. As I was quadrupling the recipe recently (for easy breakfast later on in the week), I made a happy accident (left out some egg) that yielded much more pancake-like texture. 2 C oats (processed until fine powder), 2 C cottage cheese, 2 C egg whites, 1 egg, 3 Tbsp ground flax, 1 tsp baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, stevia, splash of almond milk to thin it out. I let the batter sit for 5 minutes before cooking. What a difference this made in the texture! These puffed up and was more bread-like whereas the previous ones were flat, spongy, and somewhat soggy. If you're just making a single serving, I'd recommend decreasing the egg whites to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
great with stawberry jam. also added sliced bananas when in the pan to make banana pancakes, a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I am not doing the southbeach diet but I still make these pancakes on Sunday morning because they are healthy, really fill you up (not with sugar though) and taste great! I highly recommend them with some razberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
These actually turned out fluffy! I couldn't believe it. But, definitely add some Splenda to the mix. I used Pumpkin Pie spice to jazz up the flavor. Also, I discovered that I'm having some sensitivity to eggs, so I used a single serving container of apple sauce instead of the eggs. It seemed a little dry, but still turned out okay. And, boy, do they keep you full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1CONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Wow! I loved this pancake--and I used to hate pancakes! I am not on the South Beach Diet, but have committed myself to eating mostly whole foods and restricting processed or refined foods. This recipe hit the mark. I made my pancake with 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg, I forgot to add the vanilla, and I added a squirt of honey. To top the pancake, I sliced a Fuji apple into thin slices, sprinkled them with cinnamon and a little honey and microwaved until soft. Just a warning, this pancake is BIG and it will fill you up. I couldn't even finish mine! One complaint I have with the recipe is that it is advertised as "low-carb". It's not really low in carbohydrates (there are no standards for calling a food low-carb). Oatmeal is a carbohydrate, but it is a whole grain and is very good for you; especially for heart health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A6N2N0A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This is an awesome pancake for those of us who are dieting and want lower carb, higher protien foods. It is a bit grainy, but has decent texture, and matches well with fresh fruit and no sugar added syrup. What an innovative way to make a pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Very easy, very good. Top w/your favorite fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALAWLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Okay, not the best pancake recipe I've ever had, but dang good if you have a craving for pancakes and you want to stay on your diet. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States